Playing source game on Macbook using Crossover

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by zack13532, Jul 12, 2008.

  1. zack13532 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #1
    I recently purchased Half Life: Source for my Steam account on my friends computer (an XP laptop). With OS X 10.5.4 I downloaded steam and installed it using CrossOver games. It works quite well and I was able to download Half Life: Source and Half Life Deathmatch: Source onto my computer, but when I run it, I get a white screen. It plays the intro video music, but with no picture. Soon after that it usually crashes. Are there any executable commands I should run half life with? I've seen Half Life 2 running on a macbook, so I assume that Half Life: Source should run. I'm using a Macbook 2 Ghz 1GB RAM and an Intel GMA 950 with 64mb vid RAM (this may be the problem). Any ideas?
     
  2. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #2
    My guess it's a video problem having to do with graphics. Why not use Boot Camp to install XP and play it that way?

    Regards.
     
  3. martychang macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    #3
    Try setting -dxlevel 81 as a Launch Option for Half-Life: Source. All kinds of weird graphical glitches happen when trying to play Portal or TF2 on my Mac with Crossover Games if I don't do this, presumably because it's trying to run in DirectX 9 mode, which isn't totally supported by Crossover yet.
     
  4. zack13532 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #4
    I have an 80Gb Hard Drive, with only 2 or 3GB open, so installing xp wouldn't be that optimal considering I would have to basically surrender the rest of my disk space. That will be my last resort.

    Yea, just tried that (I've also tried dxlevel -60, -70, -80, and -90). Still the same thing. Come on guys I know there's got to be someone out there who can help me.
     
  5. zack13532 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #5
    Oh, and here is a link to a video of a guy doing something similar except with Half Life 2 and less RAM than me. Also with a previous version of crossover and Tiger it looks like. http://youtube.com/watch?v=hPrWplpCQUQ
     
  6. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #6
    Try adding -windowed to the command line.

    If that doesn't help, try adding -novid.

    The Mac video drivers seem to be less polished than the Linux ones, especially the nVidia drivers, so some functions when mapped from DirectX to OpenGL produce unexpected results and function differently across different Mac video drivers. However, Half-Life is explicitly supported by CrossOver so you can always write a support ticket with them and I've found them to be quickly helpful in getting things running.
     
  7. zack13532 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #7
    Well I got it working, but it's only working under regular CrossOver, not CrossOver games. However, this may be because I was using a windows 2000 bottle in Games and windows xp in regular. The game starts and loads for about 3 or so minutes (long wait) and then plays perfectly. With all settings at tops (literally all), I average around 60-70 fps. Then again, the graphics aren't that great, which makes me wish there was some sort of hd pack for hl: source.
     

Share This Page