please compare upgraded 2009 macpro with 2013 one

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by eric79won, Aug 5, 2015.

  1. eric79won macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    #1
    I have 2009 mac pro 2.2 ghz / 8core.
    I'm considering upgrade CPU to xeon x5690 - 3.46 ghz 6core x 2 ( then it will be 12 core total )
    I wonder if I upgrade my CPU and GPU to GTX 970, how fast my mac pro will be compare to 2013 mac pro.
    My memory is 1066hz-48mb now.

    I'm even considering changing gpu to gtx titan x.
    It will be almost $ 2000. I'm not sure if it's worth it.
    I just want to use my mac pro 3-4 years more if I spend $ 2000.

    I read some reviews that upgraded to 3.46ghz mac pro is faster than 2013 mac pro.
    I wonder if it's ture.

    Please advise what would be best choice for me.
    Thank you.
     
  2. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #2
    You may want to fit 3.33GHz 6core processors to save a bit of cash.
     
  3. h9826790, Aug 5, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2015

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    If you compare the 12 core maxed out cMP, and the 12 cores maxed out nMP. Sorry, I don't think that the cMP is any faster in terms of the CPU performance. At most it can be in par with the nMP in multi core benchmarking software.
     
  4. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #4
    If you looking at ROIU then the nMP 12-core is not going to compete, and while the newer (but 2 years old) Xeonb is more efficient, not THAT efficient. Throw in being stuck in AMD instead, the nMP is a specialized and optimized for some but not all pro apps.

    You give up: 3 PCIe slots, 4 x 6TH internal drives.

    "comparable" nMP 12=core? $7,800 512GB w/ D700 and the 12-core cpu.
     
  5. ssgbryan macrumors 6502

    ssgbryan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #5
    Don't forget the cost of thunderbolt enclosures if you have large data sets.
     
  6. knowhate, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2016
  7. knowhate, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2016
  8. h9826790, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2015

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    No, he was talking about the X5680.

    However, if you are with the single CPU 4,1. W3680 will work beautifully. The upgrade process is simple, may be even simpler than a normal PC. The biggest caution is the W3680 only works with the 5,1 firmware. So if you have a 4,1, you MUST upgrade the firmware BEFORE the CPU upgrade.
     
  9. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #9
    It's as simple as dropping it in with thermal paste. DP are a different story though.
     
  10. ProjectManager101 Suspended

    ProjectManager101

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    #10
    Graphic card upgrade does nothing. I had the 256MB and installed a 2GB and the only improvement was more preview render time in After Effects, not worth at all the amount of money I paid back then.
     
  11. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #11
    minus the thunderbolt i had a cMP that laid the smackdown on the nMP candy azz
     
  12. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #12
    ?
    This doesn't sound right.
    Can you be please more specific?
    Any details of the cards you have used?
     

Share This Page