Please consider poor, starving teachers when selling

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MysticCow, Mar 9, 2014.

1. MysticCow macrumors 6502a

MysticCow

I've seen several posts about selling their old PowerPC Macs, and it's all right that you want to sell it. It's just that I always try to make a post about selling it to a poor, starving teacher, mainly because I am a poor, starving teacher!

Then, I make a point to state how art and music teachers get nothing from their respective board offices, because they don't! I speak from experience here-arts (music, art, etc) teachers tend to get nothing. I've had to use my old iMac G3 and my PowerMac G4 for my chosen profession of teaching.

Now I know you're asking, "Why would anyone in education even want my old Mac?" Again, since I am a music teacher and receive nothing from my board office, I can give specific examples of how my cheaply purchased PowerPC's work in school.

1. 1 I have a 600 MHz G3 iMac that functions as my CD library. This is a convenience that just can't be overstated. I never have to look for a CD, or worry about breaking one on accident (it happens) or wondering where I left my CD packet. Go over there, open iTunes, and get the song playing. I'm done and have saved time in my classroom. I don't need something from the last six months to only be a jukebox and the students still think it looks cool.
    2. 2 I have a 733 MHz Digital Audio G4 that serves as my main in the classroom. It's used for writing documents and lesson plans in Office 2004 (my favorite Office of all time). It's used for creating newsletters in Pages. It's used for making programs for special occasions that stand out. I use it for online research of methods with TenFourFox. It's even networked, so I can print from anywhere in the building. I don't need a computer made in the last six months to do that, I need something that can work and that is my G4.