Please help bootcamp on Leopard, says cant be installed??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by metroid001, Oct 30, 2007.

  1. metroid001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #1
    Hey thanks for putting up with me, i just rushed out to buy the new Leopard osx and I thought bootcamp came with it? I am new to mac so please bare with me. I really love my mac but need to run a windows only business software on it and im sick of my windows only pc! Please help? Where can i find bootcamp on Leopard?:mad:
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    In your Applications folder, there is a Utilities folder. It is in there. You can use Spotlight (the search tool in the top right of your screen) to find anything if you don't know where it is :)
     
  3. metroid001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for the reply!!!

    Its telling me that boot camp cant be installed on my system.. I have 1.8ghz PowerpcG5 ,1 gb ddr sdram, 148 Gb harddisk, model name Imac G5.. please help.. is there any software i could use to be able to use windows software.
     
  4. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #4
    Unfortunately, you need an Intel based Mac to use Boot Camp. Your only option is Virtual PC 7 emulation...which may or may not work in Leopard. It is very slow as well.

    Steve
     
  5. metroid001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #5
    Thanks steve, I will try that.. other wise i just spent 800 bucks for nothing.. ugh.. :confused:
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    You'd get better performance buying a PC for the money you spend on Virtual PC. :(
     
  7. metroid001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #7
    I know, this sucks.. i wish i knew more about macs.. I just bought leopard for 130 so now im at around 1000 i could have just bought another mac... thanks for your help guys.. pc users would just rip on me!
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  9. metroid001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #9
    about 2 weeks ago but i bought it off ebay and it looks unbelievable.. 20" wide display very clean, runs great so im thinking cant beat this for 800.. well once again.. i no nothing about mac and im finding lots of problems running anything i need..everything says need intel based mac.. and the guy i bought it off swore up and down he new nothing so it was just not meant to be from step 1.
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    You probably should have considered coming to MacRumors first or buying a refurbished Intel Mac.

    We would have been more then happy to help with your first Mac experience.
     
  11. metroid001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #11
    well i could always resell this one for something especially now since its upgraded to leopard for them.. haha But how much do u think i could pick up a nice one? I dont need top of the line.. i mainly do picture editing and photo work
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    A brand new iMac would run $1199 for the low end model.

    Even nicer getting it off of Amazon.com tax free and no shipping charge.
     
  13. metroid001 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    I'm not the only user happy to help.
     

Share This Page