Please Help! Can not use mouse to click on anything!!!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by hedbergm, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. hedbergm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #1
    Hi all. i know most people ignore people like me but i need help.

    Today i was messing around in system preferences. i was in expose and spaces. I went to choose which shortcut i wanted to use to enable expose. for some reason i had the option of choosing which mouse button to use, there was a list continuing up to 300 of "mouse button 1, mouse button 2, 3, 4, 5... and so on. i wondered what it would do and i pressed on it. i discovered that this button made a setting so every time i click on the mouse, primary or secondary, it opens expose and i cant get it away!!!! ive tried heaps like boot into safe mode delete some files.
    i can use the keyboard to open aplications. i can get to the expose settings but i dont know how i can change the settings just using the keyboard. Luckily i have a guest account which i used to create an admin account (root). i can ssh the mac while logged into my user and open command prompt. i also have file sharing on.
    Does anyone know how to help me??
     
  2. guydude193 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    MI
    #2
    Sure. Don't play around with stuff if you don't know what you're doing. ;)
     
  3. 01jamcon macrumors 6502a

    01jamcon

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    You really need screen sharing to be turned on to make it easy. When in expose maybe try tabbing around to see if you can highlight different options?
     
  4. hedbergm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #4
    ive had a mac for ages.

    i know a lot about mac. ive always known what im doing. This was a glitch
     
  5. hedbergm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #5
    dont work. clicking in screen saver does this too.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    Maybe that's why. If you always know what you're doing and you know a lot about Mac, then you obviously don't need our help. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page