Please Help: DIY Gaming PC Problem

Discussion in 'Alternatives to Mac Hardware' started by Mac'nCheese, Oct 10, 2018.

  1. Mac'nCheese, Oct 10, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2018

    Mac'nCheese Suspended

    Mac'nCheese

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #1
    My son and I built a PC last night and it is not working. When powered on, the fans go on but the monitor says there is no signal. We tried plugging it in HDMI and the other way (sorry, forgot). Anyway, I opened it up, made sure everything was plugged in right and tried it a few more times. There are a couple of power cords from the supply that aren't plugged in but I assume they are for other devices we didnt buy. There is one 8 pin that says CPU on it but there is no place on the motherboard that I could find plus we used the bigger power cord that has 20 or more pins to plug into the MB. I know its hard to trouble shoot something without seeing it but where would you start to look for a problem. How would I even know if its the MB or the CPU or a power issue. I am assuming that once I turn it on I should see something that lets me then change the boot up to my windows USB install. I even tried leaving the windows USB in when I turned it on and that didn't help.
     
  2. eltoslightfoot macrumors 6502a

    eltoslightfoot

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    #2
    We would need more information, and probably photos. Do you have an intel or AMD proc? That CPU connector needs to be connected to the motherboard. Most likely there is a place to plug it in (though the number of pins varies by CPU I think) near where the proc goes.

    This is separate from the 20 pin motherboard connector.
     
  3. Mac'nCheese thread starter Suspended

    Mac'nCheese

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #3
    Yeah I can't find where that connector goes in. Its a BM450M-HDV Mother board and an AMD motherboard.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 10, 2018 ---
    Now the fans aren't even turning on. Like there's no power at all.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. velocityg4 macrumors 601

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #4
    Picture of the heatsink. There is a 4-pin power connector. That is where the 8 pin CPU (EPS) power connector goes. Some motherboards need a 4-pin other's 8-pin. The connector works for both. Usually they are splittable or the strand has both a 4 and 8 pin connector. But that doesn't matter. Don't force it. Only one side has the correct pin layout. If it fits, it's correct. Sort of a square half circle pattern.
     
  5. Mac'nCheese thread starter Suspended

    Mac'nCheese

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #5
    I tried before I had to go to work. It doesn't seem to be splittable. I didn't want to force it but I'll look again. thank you
     
  6. velocityg4 macrumors 601

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #6
    It should. If you look carefully at the connector. One half is pentagon, square, pentagon, square. The other half is all pentagon. While the connector on the motherboard is pentagon, square, pentagon, square.
     
  7. Mac'nCheese thread starter Suspended

    Mac'nCheese

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #7
    I was able to take it apart. If the half fits in fine, is that definitely the right half? I’m still having problems powering it up.
     
  8. velocityg4 macrumors 601

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #8
    Please list all the components of your build. I don't see a GPU in the picture. I hope you got a Ryzen APU not CPU.

    Make sure everything is connected properly. Generally you'll feel a click when components are fully seated in place. RAM is the biggest troublemaker for seating properly.

    If you bought a GPU. Make sure all power cables are plugged into it. Some have no connections, one connection or two connections. I'm not aware of any which use more than that.

    Unless the wrong side was forced in. If the CPU power connector fits. It is the correct side. Just be sure you matched the ends of the connector as mentioned before. Since there is a square and pentagon pattern. The hook should go over the part sticking out on the motherboard connector.

    Are you getting any beeps or does the motherboard display any diagnostic codes?
     
  9. Mac'nCheese thread starter Suspended

    Mac'nCheese

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #9
    MSI GeForce GTX 1050 Ti DirectX 12 GTX 1050 Ti GAMING X 4G 4GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready ATX Video Card




    ) CORSAIR CX Series CX550 550W ATX12V 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply



    G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2800 (PC4 22400) Intel Z170 Platform / Intel X99 Platform Desktop Memory Model F4-2800C16D-8GVR


    Capacity: 8GB (2 x 4GB) Type: 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM Speed: DDR4 2800 (PC4 22400) CAS Latency: 16 Color: Red LED color: N/A Fan Included: No


    ) ASRock B450M-HDV AM4 AMD B450 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

    Rosewill Micro ATX Mini Tower Computer Case, Office Computer Case with 1 x 80mm Rear Fan, Top I/O Access with USB 3.0 x 1, USB 2.0 x 2, Audio In/Out and Support CPU Cooler up to 140mm (SCM-01)

    AMD Ryzen 3 2200G Processor with Radeon Vega 8 Graphics


    So when I originally put it together, the fans would power on the graphic card, the case and the one on the cpu. There was no display or sounds. Now it won’t even power on the fans at all. I stripped it down completely as someone else suggested and just have the CPU and one ram in. The fans still don’t power on.
     
  10. velocityg4 macrumors 601

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #10
    Try just the other RAM module in the other RAM slot. Be sure both ATX and CPU power connectors are plugged in, make sure you didn't accidentally turn the power switch on the back of the PSU off.

    Also do a CMOS reset. Remove from power, remove lithium battery, wait 15 seconds, short clr cmos jumper for 5 seconds, put jumper back in standard position, put battery back and connect back to power. Never clear CMOS while connected to power!

    Manual P. 6, 7, 25

    If no jumper is included to clear the CMOS. Do the same procedure. When you get to the jumper part. I'd say just move the connector for the front power switch to the clear CMOS position as described in the manual. Then depress the power button for 5 seconds. It should act like a jumper. Then you can move the power switch connector back to the front panel header on the motherboard.
     

Share This Page

9 October 10, 2018