Please help! iPhone erased during update

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by macJC50640, Feb 26, 2014.

  1. macJC50640 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    #1
    Hello there. I just recently had an issue with my iPhone 5. While trying to install the new iOS 7 security update, my phone crashed and it said connect to iTunes. At first I was not worried, because I have a complete backup of my phone stored on my computer that was made just a couple days ago.

    However, upon connecting it to the computer it says I must restore and update before anything. This is a problem because if I do that the newest update will be installed on my phone, but my backup with all my data is of course from the previous version. From my understanding Apple won't let you go backwards once you are on a newer version of iOS.

    Am I wrong? Any help is greatly appreciated because as of now I am down a phone.

    Thank you!!!!!
     
  2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    But you have a backup yes? I'd perform the update, then set the phone up from that backup.
     
  3. macJC50640 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    #3
    Thank you for the prompt reply

    Yes correct, but if I restore and update (the only choice iTunes is giving me) it will install the latest version. My backup is from the previous version, and I think that Apple won't let you go backwards?
     
  4. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #4
    The backup does not restore the firmware (in this case 7.0.4) only your info. As long as the backup was made either with the current version or a past version installed, your fine. The only time you sometimes run into trouble is when restoring with an older firmware, like if I try to restore my iPhone 3GS (6.1.6) with a backup of my iPhone 5 (7.0.6) then I will run into trouble.
     
  5. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
    ^^^

    This


    You will still be able to use the backup.
     
  6. macJC50640 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    #6
    Thank you everyone who replied, that news is very good to hear haha

    Downloading the software now through iTunes (will probably take multiple hours due to my slow internet) so hopefully all goes well.
     
  7. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #7
    Guess I'm lucky I can download an IPSW in 7 minutes or less.

    Anyway, good luck and hope all goes well! This is honestly why I don't trust OTA software updates. My iPad did the same thing one time. Luckily I had it backed up.
     
  8. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #8
    Under two mins here!:)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #9
    :eek: I get about 30Mbps Down/4Mbps Up. I'm guessing Fiber? Lucky. I'm stuck with cable. At least its Charter, their speeds aren't bad.

    I'd post a snap shot, but I'm on my old MacBook without 802.11n or ac, so it tops out at like 20Mbps.
     
  10. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #10
    To be honest, I was quite happy with 60 down...My really gripe is the upload, but here in the UK all ISP's ae pretty mean with it...I'm hoping to wind up with around 15.

    I'm old enough to remember when 15 would have been considered a super fast DL speed, and 150?

    Only for big corporations with dedicated ADSL lines.

    I really can't complain..:)

    ----------

    Yes, it's fibre, and usually reliable...During recent work to upgrade their infrastructure, we had outages.....never a whole day, but 3 hours here 2 hours there etc.

    I got a full months refund for every single one....but you have to phone them..so when they were working on it, my BB was effectively free!
     

Share This Page