Please Help, Mac Pro Start up Problem!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mpmusic, May 29, 2007.

  1. mpmusic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    #1
    okay, so i got my mac pro today from fed ex.
    i was extreamly excited!

    Anyways everything runs great.

    i installed a few apps, then restarted, and it booted up normal.
    then i installed bootcamp/installed windows.

    when windows finishes installing,
    i install updates from Window's Update website.

    then it asks me to restart, and i do ..
    but then when the computer restarts, i hear

    Bong... Bong... Bong... Bong.. Bong.. ect.

    i got kinda scared, thinking i broke the mac pro, my first mac since OS9.
    so i held down the power button in front for a full system shut down
    then turned it on, and, it works great.

    but now EVERYTIME i CHOOSE to restart my mac, this happens all the time.
    i dont know what the problem is, but i'm guessing its Bootcamp, or windows XP, because this never happand before i installed Windows..

    can anyone help? i was gonna call apple, but they are closed..
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    That usually means bad RAM so try running the Apple Hardware Test from your OSX discs. It'll probably be on Install Disc 1 in which case you just boot holding D instead of C to get it running. As a side note, even if everything passes the tests, your RAM may still need to be checked more thoroughly by removing a stick one-by-one, but we'll cross that bridge later.

    While we're at it though, do you have any third party peripherals plugged in?
     
  3. mpmusic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    #3
    Well, it might be the ram, i havnt tested it just yet.

    but i didnt install the ram, my configured my computer through apple.com
    and chose 2gb of ram...

    everything except that minor little thing works great.

    could it be any other ideas?

    it wasnt doing the bong bong bong
    when i first started my computer, it happand after i installed bootcamp.
     
  4. FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #4
    ...

    Does it sound like a 'beep' or is it the normal 'chime' just repeated a number of times?

    You got it today? I'd give Apple a call right now

    F
     
  5. mpmusic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    #5
    Yeah i got it today.

    its the Chime.. it repeats over and over
    but only when i restart.

    if i shut down the computer
    it boots up fine..

    any suggestions
     
  6. FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #6
    booting

    Right, well when your machine first turns on, its starts the BootROM that contains the startup (boot) programs. This includes the Power-On Self Test (POST)

    Ideally, you'd hear one chime to proove the test went ok. Does the LED flash at all?

    I think you should tell Apple you're having Booting problems, and that you hear the startup Chime numerous times. You could have a lemon waiting to happen. Booting from another Intel Mac through Target mode won't do anything, cos it'll do the 'chiming' before it looks for a boot device.

    Only on Restart? If it were mine, and it were the first day of ownership, I don't care what OS the HDD is running, Apple would be on the other end of the line processing a replacement.

    F
     
  7. mpmusic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    #7
    UPDATE 3.33 am

    So i took about 20 minutes diagnosing everything, and the root of the problem was my Mini WD Hard Drive
    i'm sure you've seen them around.. anyways i am probably going to end up selling it because i need a reliable external
    hard drive, because thats where my recording studio files are..

    so this brings me to a question.

    is it possible, to partition maybe 100 GB from my stock 250 GB hard drive
    and like split it up temporary until i get a new SATA Hard Drive or External?

    how would i go about doing this?
     

Share This Page