Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ncage1974

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 25, 2012
I'l start out by saying i'm sorry. I've been in analysis/paralysis since the M1 Pro/Max have been announced. This unfortunately will probably be long and unorganized (but that is how my mind is right now) but i will try to organize it as well as possible.

So currently i have a late 2013 rMBP 13 (16GB or ram) which i bought back in 2013 when it first came out. If i remember correctly (but i might be wrong) I think the base memory config was 4GB but i opted for the max amount of memory to help "future proof" which i think it has because i probably would have upgraded much sooner if it didn't have 16GB (especially if it only had 4GB). This laptop just went out of support for the lasted MacOS mac versions (Big Sur is as far as i can go).

So i'm a developer and mostly work from home but at least right now my development isn't done on anything i have i have at home instead I VPN into work and do my development on my work computer. I have aspirations to do more development from home but you know how that goes it might and might not happen. I used to be a heavy VM (virtual machine user) but unfortunately apple kicked that in the butt with apple silicon. The story isn't that great anymore. Even with parallels your severely limited which linux distros you can run and the story for windows (WOA or Windows on Arm isn't that great right now). I don't know if the vm story will ever get better but if it does i would probably need at least 32 (if not 64). If i ever did more development or started to do work on my laptop then i probably would need at least 32 also. Our project at work used about 12 docker containers running and your generally running multiple instances of Visual Studio Code.