Please help me Fix my Idiotic Mistake

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by KBS756, May 9, 2014.

  1. KBS756 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #1
    Hey, I tried to install bootcamp on my Mac Pro ... and I don't have a flashed video card so I don't see the boot screen menus ... So I assumed the install would go smoothly and It would just automatically skip through them ... but I kept getting please insert bootable disk ... and holding down option and hitting an arrow to either side or even staying in the same place hasn't resulted in any response for me to return to my OSX partition ... any suggestions on how I can get back into the OSX part would be greatly appreciated thanks!
     
  2. snarfquest macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    #2
    Have you tried "SHIFT" during boot for safe mode?

    Or "Command-R" for recovery?

    Either of those (assuming it boots OSX) would allow you to change your boot partition back to OSX.
     
  3. Vorboid macrumors newbie

    Vorboid

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    #3
    Press Alt/Option while rebooting your computer and select the partition you want to boot (not the recovery disk)
     
  4. snarfquest macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    #4
    He can't see that screen. He doesn't have an EFI flashed video card.
     
  5. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #5

    Haven't tried shift ... with Command + R I just get black for several minutes ... should I wait longer?

    Trying shift right now.

    I tried to set the start up disk using target disk mode but it doesn't apply for the mac pro ...
     
  6. Gartbull macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Location:
    British Columbia
    #6
    Hmm. Try opening up your Mac and pull out all the hard drives except the one you want to boot. Just pull them out enough to discontent the ports. Remember to turn your machine off first though!

    This is what I did to flash my video card. I was able to boot back and forth between OS X and Windows without Bootcamp.

    Hope it helps.

    Gary
     
  7. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #7
    You can always do a PRAM reset and it'll reset the default boot drive to the OS X partition.
     
  8. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #8
    Kk now I'm a bit worried ... It's not responding to command p r ... It's like it's just flat out ignoring keyboard input but target disk mode did work ...
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    Should be "Command + Option + P + R", 4 keys.
     
  10. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #10
    Thanks I was not thinking straight

    .... Now to figure out why it couldn't boot from that key
     
  11. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    Do you still have your (original) Mac Edition GPU? If so use it during installation!
     
  12. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #12
    Gave it to a friend unfortunately .. seems the USB key that Bootcamps assistant is making is just bad though because i don't see it when i hold option on my laptop
     
  13. tomvos macrumors 6502

    tomvos

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    In the Nexus.
    #13
    I second the idea to try booting the Recovery System via the Command-R key chord.

    When I tried to get boot camp up and running (which was a royal PITA), I noticed that even a simple USB stick can mess up the EFI boot manager of the Mac Pro 5.1. So maybe you should try to disconnect any USB device before turning your Mac on and press and hold Command-R then. Perhaps this makes a difference.


    Another approach would be to try to boot from CD or DVD. If you still have the original media of your Mac Pro, open the drive by pressing the mouse button during boot. Insert the DVD, close the drive (gently pushing the tray) and reboot the system. Hold the 'C' key during the reboot. With any luck, your Mac will boot into the installer. There you should be able to change the startup disk from one of the menu items if I remember correctly.
     
  14. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #14
    I don't know how you made your USB Windows installer, but it probably won't work for older MP models. You need to use a DVD Windows installer under Boot Camp. I have tried in the past to hack Boot Camp Assistant and prepared USB installers, but they were not bootable under Boot Camp Assistant.
     
  15. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #15
    Press ALT while booting for a long time (example 2 minutes) then press left arrow and enter - it should boot again to OS X.
     
  16. TzunamiOSX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
  17. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #17
    Sorry forgot to post, managed to get back into OSX ! ... still having no success with creating a USB boot drive though ... and I don't have a Disk Drive in my Mac Pro anymore ... close to going out and buying a Macbook air USB superdrive if that will work ...
     
  18. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #18
    Pressing X at startup only worked on systems that had Mac OS 9 and OS X on the same partition. Even then, I rarely got it to work. G5's and Intell based Macs don't respond to X at startup.
     
  19. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #19
    That USB superdrive is not working with the cMP by default. Even though you can modify the com.apple.Boot.plist file to make it work with cMP. Since it's a OS hack, I doubt that will it work for booting or not.

    Also, it's better to have an external DVD driver with the eject button. It may safe you from some trouble during the Windows installation / operation.
     
  20. TzunamiOSX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #20
    Where is your old GPU?

    Use an EFI GPU or fly blind through your EFI.

    If you dont have a EFI GPU it is better to install Windows on a separate disk. So if you have a problem you can remove that disk
     
  21. KBS756 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #21
    Any recommendations for an external that would work on both sides without issue?
     
  22. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #22

    Read the 12th post in the thread, 8 before yours.
     
  23. matty1551 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    #23
    Not sure if this has been suggested yet. If you are using a seperate drive for Windows, pull it out so it has to boot from the only available drive.
     
  24. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #24
    After you edit com.apple.Boot.plist, you can install OS X or Windows via an Apple SuperDrive, done it many times :) Just make sure the drive is directly attached, it won't work through a USB hub.
     
  25. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #25
    I just never understand why peoples often don't bother to keep the :apple: GPU, whether in the MP or on the shelve. It makes life so much easier and threads like these so much shorter... ;)
     

Share This Page