Please Help Me, G5 Broken!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by rph105, Aug 3, 2008.

  1. rph105 macrumors 6502

    rph105

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #1
    Hey Everyone,

    I just installed the software updates today (been meaning to do it for a while now), new itunes, new garageband, new osx update.

    After it prompted to restart the grey apple screen came up with the logo and a bunch of code, and keeps telling me to restart. Everytime I restart it does this over and over again.

    Screenshot below

    Any help will be appreciated

    thanks in advance

    Raph
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    that looks like a hardware issue. It probably coincided with restarting your computer which can put your computer's bits and pieces through their paces.
     
  3. chas0001 macrumors 6502a

    chas0001

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Alicante, SPAIN
    #3
    Have to tied to boot from the Leopard Install DVD? Do that and repair permissions. Also try and hold down CMD + OPT + P + R when you boot.
     
  4. Trajectory macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Location:
    Earth
    #4
    Reboot from the OSX CD (hold down C key while computer starts) and re-install the OS. Looks like something got badly corrupted. You can try running the Disk Utility before reinstalling the OS, but, I doubt that will fix it.
     
  5. mpw Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    #5
    I had a similar issue after an upgrade on a G3 years ago, in the end I did nothing, restarted a few times (10+ getting frantic) and then it 'just worked' ii=:!!:=ii
     
  6. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #6
    Being a little less painful, an Archive & Install is always worth a try before an Erase and Install.
     
  7. rph105 thread starter macrumors 6502

    rph105

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #7
    Hi everyone thanks for the tips, wil; ltry them all now. I've got my tme machine hooked up so I'm not worried to much about data.
     
  8. Firefly2002 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #8
    If you've got a DiskWarrior CD onhand, boot from that and repair your disk :)
     
  9. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #9
    Ive seen panics like that when trying to boot my intel Tiger dvds on my girlfriends G4. I think they update borked your install. You are probably safe if you just reinstall.
     
  10. Hrududu macrumors 68010

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Wichita KS
    #10
    If doing the software stuff doesn't help it looks like either bad RAM or a bad processor... I would recommend pulling RAM and seeing if you can track down the problem that way.
     
  11. rph105 thread starter macrumors 6502

    rph105

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #11
    thanks everyone, held down C while I had my g5 boot disk in, reinstalled back to panther lol, going back to leopard in a bit.

    Thanks again guys

    Much Appreciated!
     

Share This Page