Please help me get my macbook online!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jhonnybravo32, Nov 3, 2008.

  1. jhonnybravo32 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #1
    So I just got back from the mac store and where they reinstalled os x and cleaned out my memory to leave me with a blank mac but a mac that works none the less. I took it home and clicked on the home network I always go on through my wireless airport. It just says "there is an error connecting to" my network, Please help me.
     
  2. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
  3. jhonnybravo32 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #3
    actually there is no password. I usually log right in. I do know that the so called "genius" at the mac store gave me the airport extreme 2008-002 update. I really think that is why my airport is not working but I cant fix it. thanks for your help.
     
  4. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Is Airport turned on, on the mac?


    Does your airport have mac address filtering? Is it broadcasting SSID?

    Was the Airport reset? (maybe you gave it a new SSID, and it reverted back, so your mac can't *see* it now)


    There is usually a reason, I would first check those. Beyond that, I cannot think of an easily fixable problem that could have come up.
     
  5. cricketbird macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #5
    Reset the airport

    This will fix most airport weirdness - hold down the reset button on your airport (the little teeny one that you have to use a paper clip / pen point to press). Hold it down for 10 seconds until the light flashes rapidly. That will reset the airport. Then, open up Applications > Utilities > Airport Utility and follow the instructions there to re-set up your network.
     
  6. jhonnybravo32 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
  7. jhonnybravo32 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #7
    where exactly is this tiny airport reset button. I have a the white plastic type macbook,
     
  8. jhonnybravo32 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #8
    I just connect to a router. And its always worked. I just click the name of our router or whatever and it goes on.. Now it dosent. Is the reset airport button on my macbook?
     
  9. eluk macrumors 6502a

    eluk

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Location:
    East London, UK
    #9
    No. It is on the back of the Airport.
     

Share This Page