Please help me on RAM

Discussion in 'iMac' started by LFRG, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. LFRG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    #1
  2. 12dylan34 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #2
  3. user418 macrumors 6502a

    user418

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    #3
  4. thekev, Jul 26, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012

    thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #4
    What do you mean an "extra" 4GB? That links to 4x1. 4 sticks of 1GB each. That would populate the entire imac with 4GB total. This is assuming we're talking about one of the recent year models that accepts 4 sodimms and not an ancient variant.
     
  5. pdubbbs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #5

    If you want an extra 4gb, you need it split in 2 sticks not 4 since the iMac only has 4 slots. Like the above post, RAM is dirt cheap, go for an extra 16gb. I've had good outcomes with Corsair RAM.
     
  6. freedevil macrumors 6502a

    freedevil

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #6
  7. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
  8. RobinHood5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    #8
  9. Aj2488 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    #9
    Me too!! Just received my order and installed the new Ram today in about 5 minutes... Could not have been any easier! I highly recommend OWC.
     

Share This Page