please help me with my iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by candychunk, Aug 19, 2008.

  1. candychunk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Cali
    #1
    i bought an iPhone from someone, the iPhone does not show carrier, cant make/receive calls, no sms, but others work perfectly

    does anyone know what's wrong with it? i tried unlocking it but it just get stuck so i kept reinstalling the factory setting through itunes

    pls explain it carefully as im a n00b when it comes to this... thanks in advance
     
  2. Ntombi macrumors 68030

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
    #2
    Forgive the simple question, but is there a SIM card in it?
     
  3. candychunk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Cali
    #3
    yes, there is... i used att and t-mobile since it was unlocked (it was unlocked at first, it had that issue- no carrier on top)
     
  4. ashley1407 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #4
    Need more details, is it old iPhone or 3G iPhone?

    Firmware version?
     
  5. candychunk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Cali
    #5
    it's a 2G... how would i know the firmware version? where can i check it? as i said im totally a n00b :/
     
  6. macbookhamburg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #6
    Settings>General>Info

    but if you restored it already thru itunes it should have 2.0.1
     
  7. candychunk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Cali
    #7
    yeah, i restored it.... about 9x because i was trying to get it unlocked and keeps freezing during the process

    (it was unlocked, i restored it bec. of the said problem, now im trying to get it unlocked again)
     
  8. macbookhamburg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #8
    pc or mac ?

    if you are on a mac and you use pwnage i never heard of the phone just freezing....

    more info would be good ... like was os and what programms you tried to use and stuff like that ...
     
  9. candychunk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Cali
    #9
    sorry for the question-answer thing... idk what info to provide... im using a macbook...and i used ZiPhone, whatever's their latest one... ive actually started using pwnage but it was asking for other files that ill need to google.. and im not sure which one to get.. so i just deleted it because i dont wanna download softwares im not really sure what they are... is there a site that would provide me the complete bundle so i wont have to look for each file in every step? also, does the firmware matter when using pwnage?

    thanks for your time
     
  10. abijnk macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    Just try to learn pwnage and see if that works. Its not really too difficult, you should be able to figure it out even with limited knowledge. There are several "how-to"s both on here and around the web, and if you get stuck on a step you can always ask. I would be very surprised if you can't get it working with that.

    That said, is 2.0.2 supported by the dev team just yet? Since it just came out in the last couple days their update might not be out yet, I don't know...
     
  11. macbookhamburg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #11
    see there's the problem ... You need to use pwnage ! Ziphone does not work with the 2.0 software or higher and the files you need are the bootloader files... I'm not sure if it does work already with 2.0.1 but again pwnage is the only thing that will work ! Either search this forum or google for pwnage instructions and you will find everything you need!
    Good luck !
     
  12. macbookhamburg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #12
    Ha ha took me too long to type on my phone ;-)
     
  13. candychunk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Cali
    #13
    that's so nice to hear (read!) i thought there was something wrong with the phone thats why ziphone wouldnt work... at least it still has a chance

    okay, thank you all... ill try pwnage and let you know if it worked :)

    i shall be back :D (whether with questions or good/bad news)


    --------
    IT WORKED!!! I CAN MAKE CALLS! THANKS EVERYONE! now all i need is to figure out how to install applications :)
     

Share This Page