Please help - My iPhone won't work!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by SHIVERINGGOAT, Jul 27, 2009.

  1. SHIVERINGGOAT macrumors member

    SHIVERINGGOAT

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    #1
    Hello, like an idiot I downloaded and installed 3.1 beta 1 to my 3G iPhone (not jailbroken). I am not a registered developer.
    I then tried to go back to 3.0 and during the process it seems to have locked my iPhone as I can't restore it - I keep getting a screen on iTunes telling me I need to register the phone as a developer.

    Can anyone tell me what I can do just to get my phone working?

    I have the 40 Digit number needed to register it as a developer - is it worth paying the $99 to register as a developer and sort it out or is there an easier way? - I just want my phone to work, I did a backup yesterday before all of this so all my info is on my iMac.

    Any help would really be appreciated

    Shaun:)
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    Have you tried forcing the device into DFU mode and then trying to do a restore to 3.0?
     
  3. SHIVERINGGOAT thread starter macrumors member

    SHIVERINGGOAT

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    #3
    Many thanks jmann I did not know about this have found how to do it online will try now. -
     
  4. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #4
    Good luck. If that doesn't work you can try turning the phone off, and then holding down the home button while you connect it to iTunes to force the device into recovery mode before attempting a restore.
     
  5. SHIVERINGGOAT thread starter macrumors member

    SHIVERINGGOAT

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    #5
    The iPhone is recognised in iTunes - I then get a message saying that the iPhoen is in recovery mode 'You must restore this iPhone before it can be used with iTunes' - I then click OK and restore - the iphone has a progress bar on black screen and says restoring but then I get an error message saying it couldn't be restored.

    This has happened twice now - did I get it in the right mode?
     
  6. SHIVERINGGOAT thread starter macrumors member

    SHIVERINGGOAT

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    #6
    Ok I tried again and it said iTunes has detected an iPhone in Recovery mode.You jyst restore this iphone before it can be used with itunes' said it would take it back to original state - then 'Verifying iPhone Software' (3-4mins) ......'Restoring iPhone Firmware' (3-4mins).....then

    the iphone 'iphone' could not be restored.An unknown error occurred (1015) when I click 'more information' it takes me to this apple page:
    http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1275

    I tried rebooting my iMac and started again - but just get back to this.????
     
  7. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #7
    I don't think it's possible to revert from 3.1 to 3.0.
     
  8. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
  9. kate-willbury macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #9
    lol why the hell would you register and pay 99$ if you're not even a developer.
     

Share This Page