Please help networking setup

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by andresphabian, Feb 10, 2011.

1. andresphabian, Feb 10, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2011

andresphabian macrumors newbie

Hey guys,

I know i'm a noob and this might be a stupid question. but i hope you can help me out here as i've looked online for an answer and can't seem to find one. I need help setting up my apartment. I had it al figured out where i used to live, now me and my wife moved and have no idea how to set up everything so it's back in sync.

Basically i need to connect my AirportEXtreme to an existing Non-Mac wireless network

Here's what i have to work with:

- Wireless Modem/Router ADSL2 with multiple Ethernet outports.
    - Airport Extreme
    - Apple TV (the old one)

Here's what i need it to connect to:
    -Imac
    -2 Macbooks
    -Iphone
    -Xbox

Now because of the way my house's phone jacks are configured i can't physically get a modem behind the TV, or even behind the computer (IMAC).

So what i want is to be able to have both my xbox and my apple TV connected to the Internet (via Ethernet) . I need my Apple TV to Sync with my Imac, and I need to have a wireless connection for both laptops and the Iphone.

My XBOX has no wireless connection jack so it needs an Ethernet Connection.

I've read that perhaps i set up a wireless network using my wireless modem, but not sure if the AirportExtreme can "Tap into it wirelessly" then expand it through their Ethernet output jacks???

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
    Andre

2. jenzjen macrumors 68000

You need an Apple wireless product on both ends, so you still need one Airport Extreme or an Express. Since it reads like you need ethernet ports away from where your modem sits, that's where the Extreme goes.