Please help phone locked!!!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by chaycarroll, Jun 20, 2009.

  1. chaycarroll macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #1
    ok im new to the whole iphone..i bought a 2g 8gb one today from someone off craigslist..i tried it before and it was working correctly..

    he was using a pay as you go at&t card..before he gave me the phone he chose reset to factory settings so all his stuff wouldnt be on there..

    so that was about a 45 min process for it to do that all and now that its done insert my att sim card and it just says no signal..i was wanting to know if i needed to get the phone unlocked or wat...any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    Have you upgraded to 3.0? And are you using a regular AT&T plan?
     
  3. Ntombi macrumors 68030

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
    #3
    You need to get it activated. If you already have AT&T, just call them or go in, I guess.
     
  4. chaycarroll thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #4
    Yeah it says like Insert a valid sim with no pin lock to activate iphone.

    yeah im on a family plan with just unlimited text no internet..so what exactly would i have to do??

    take it in to an att store then would i have to change my plan and do the whole 2 year data plan.. or would i have the option to just keep what im using now (the family plan with my parents)

    and if i do have to take it in and get it activated how much does it cost.

    thank u guys alot for the quick responses.
     
  5. chaycarroll thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #5
    can someone please answer before i leave im about to have to leave im at the library!
     
  6. rickdollar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    #6
    You will have to pay for the data plan at AT&T but you won't have to sign a 2 year contract. You can do it month to month as they did not subsidize your phone.
     
  7. chaycarroll thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #7
    ok awesome thank u so will the 35 just add on to my bill or what..and would i need the main account holder there with me or no
     
  8. rickdollar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    #8
    It's $30 for the data plan. Yeah, I would think they would just add that amount to your bill.
    You MAY need the account holder there because you're adding $30 to his/her bill.
     
  9. chaycarroll thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #9
    ok cool..what if i was to just have someone unlock it would that work and just let me use the sim i have or no matter what i have to do the data plan
     
  10. chaycarroll thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #10
    o and last thing will there be a fee for this activation or no
     
  11. rickdollar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    #11
    As far as I know, you must have a data plan if you are going to use an iPhone with AT&T. An iPhone without a data plan would be a bit silly. You'd be throwing away it's greatest strengths. AT&T shouldn't charge you to start using your iPhone. But with a carrier, you never know. It wouldn't be much if they did.
     

Share This Page