Please Help Quicktime Bad Request 400

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by berkmanfan14, Jun 12, 2007.

1. berkmanfan14 macrumors newbie

I canno view anything on my quicktime. I was going to watch the new keynote but it said BAD REQUEST 400. Even all the side things on the internet have the quicktime "Q" in them with a question mark.:(

Will someone please help me.
    Thank You

2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

Try opening a new user account and see if it works there. If it does, then the problem is within your Home folder. :)

3. berkmanfan14 thread starter macrumors newbie

im sorry. im new to computers, not just macs. and i didnt even know there was a user account in quicktime. would you please explain to me what to do?

4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

Sorry, I don't mean create a new user in QuickTime, I mean make a new user in System Preferences. Log into this new user and see if the problem occurs there. If it doesn't then we can be sure the problem is sourced from your original user's Home folder. It's a pretty common troubleshooting technique and it works very well for narrowing the field of possibilities from whence your error occurs. Haha! I said whence!

5. berkmanfan14 thread starter macrumors newbie

im sorry. i am an idiot. i have no idea how to do that. would you help me please?

6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

Sure. You're not an idiot. :)

• Open System Preferences in the Apple Menu.
    • Click on Accounts.
    • Unlock the pane in the bottom left corner, if necessary.
    • Click the plus sign (in the bottom left too).
    • Put in some details for a new account.
    • Press Okay.
    • Log out of your current account.

7. berkmanfan14 thread starter macrumors newbie

ok i did what you said. i am still getting the same error. any ideas? i have uninstalled and reinstalled a few times. im running out of ideas.

I CAN'T EVEN WATCH YOUTUBE

8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew