Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cosplays

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 13, 2013
Hi everyone!

Im relatively new to Macs, overall.
Recently became Apple fan.
Not so long ago had my priorities change, and found myself in a need of a laptop.
Obviously it all fell to Apple.
Did some research, chose 2.
Macbook Pro 13'' i5 2.5 2012 and Macbook Air 13'' i5 1.3 2013.
But here's a bump.
While air is thinner, mbp is not that much larger, and some size specs could be omitted in case of mbp having much more power advantage.
Both are (~) relatively close in specs. Surfed the web, but didnt find performance comparison/analysis good enough. Non of it matters in the end though.
Right now, Im in need of an advice from fellow Apple fans. From their personal experience.
In terms of power and speed, processing, video play, gaming. Which one is better?
How much power boost I would get if I choose Pro over Air or vice-versa?

Thank you all in advance.

dizmonk

macrumors 65816
Nov 26, 2010
I had a MBP for a few years and just switched to the MBA. The lighter weight, expanded battery life and SSD were too much to ignore...

Klae17

macrumors 65816
Jul 15, 2011
Gaming is sufficient for the new MBAs. I would wait for the MBP or the rMPB to be updated before you buy. The rMBP would be your best choice in my opinion.

kahkityoong

macrumors 6502
Jan 31, 2011
Melbourne, Australia
There's no significant 'power boost' of the 13rMBP over this year's MBA. And if you pay the extra to go i7 MBA, it will likely be a little more powerful. It comes down to whether retina display as in other performance they are about equal.

cosplays

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 13, 2013
Well, there's no talk is going on about any rmbp. Actually it all comes down only to these particular models of mbp and mba.
So, what power difference we are talking about here?

NMF

macrumors 6502a
Oct 27, 2011