Please HELP w/Bootcamp and MBP

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Mac-key, Aug 14, 2010.

  1. Mac-key macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #1
    ok so I have spent the better part of the day pouring over videos and macrumors learning the in's and out's of installing win7 via bootcamp.

    seems pretty simple.

    UNTIL i tried it myself - i opened bootcamp assistant and tried to partition the drive, instead I got this message:

    The Drive cannot be partitioned because some files can't be moved

    It says I need to back up my stuff and reformat the drive

    WTF??? I got a 250GB HD with 120 GB free. I was only trying to create a 25GB windows partition.

    Any ideas what may be causing that error message?
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    You have to reinstall Mac OS X to fix the issue.
     
  3. Macsavvytech macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #3
    Help has arrived

    To fix this run a time machine backup and reinstall Mac osx. Skip the tutorial if you know what you're doing.
    1)select a time machine backup disk and backup.
    2)reboot you Mac to the mac osx disk by selecting startup disk in system preferences, then selecting osx install disk of course you'll need the osx disk inserted.
    3)when promted enter you setup language and select utilities disk utility.
    4)select Macintosh hard drive got to the erase tab and erase the disk to Macintosh extended (journaled).
    5)quit disk utility cmd-q
    6)flollow the onscreen instructions and install mac osx to Macintosh hd
    When first starting up your freshly installed Mac connect your backup drive and run immigration assistant on your time machine backup.
    7)Try to run bootcamp assistant again
     
  4. Mac-key thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #4
    Thank you very much
     
  5. Mac-key thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #5
    I just did a fresh install of snow leopard and migrated all my stuff over using time machine.

    worked great - very happy, but I lost my inertia scrolling in the transfer somehow. All my other settings are exactly the same. And yes I did a software update, but still no inertia scrolling.

    any ideas on how to get this back?
     
  6. Mac-key thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #6
    nevermind:) I answered the question myself
     

Share This Page