PLEASE HELP: Wireless bridge

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by eishbru, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. eishbru macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    #1
    Hello

    This is my first post from my first mac ever.

    I would like to know how to connect to multiple networks from the same router. For instance, I have on uncapped shaped account and one capped unshaped account. So i use the shaped account for gaming and the uncapped for torrents.

    on my old windows, I would have to connect tot the router and from there connect to one of the internet accounts. However, on my mac it just connects to the router but cannot choose which ISP I want.

    I think it is called a wireless bridge.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    A wireless bridge is achieved by adding something like an airport express to your network and putting it in bridge mode from the settings menu.
     
  3. eishbru, Nov 29, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 29, 2010

    eishbru thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    #3
    thank you for your swift reply

    I already have a router that is in bridge mode.

    How do I go about connecting to the other ISP's from the mac?

    ______

    If anyone is interested, I got it going buy doing the following:

    in network preferences,
    press the plus sign which 'creates a new service'
    under interface, select PPoE
    and under ethernet choose airport
    then type in the account details and password and you are going.

    its great, i can now have internet from different ISPs running concurrently.

    wonderful
     

Share This Page