Please help with my mac

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by B6spb, Mar 20, 2016.

  1. B6spb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Location:
    Stoke on trent
    #1
    Hi guys ,please can someone help,I had the beta version of elcapitan on my Mac and I decided to erase the disc and install the full version of elcapitan ,I made the big mistake and did not make a back up with time machine ,now when I try to install and I get to Apple username and password it tells me the service is out of order and try later witch I have done loads of times and I can't get passed that .my Mac is 2010 and I can't get into the Internet revert .
     
  2. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #2
    Need more information. What model Mac do you have? Did your Mac come with a install DVD?
     
  3. B6spb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Location:
    Stoke on trent
    #3
    Hi ,Mac is a 2010 model and the install DVD won't work don't no why
     
  4. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #4
    "Mac" is not the model. Is it a 2010 MacBook Air, MacBook, MacBook Pro, iMac, Mac mini, or Mac Pro? If it has a built in screen that comes with different sizes, what size?
    Have you tried booting from the install DVD holding the c key? What happens?
     
  5. B6spb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Location:
    Stoke on trent
    #5
    Sorry ,it's a 2010 iMac 21" in which I had not a problem with until now ,I can't get pass the apple log in screen ,when trying to recover using the key board controls it only goes in to disc utility ,can't access the DVDs drive not working
     
  6. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #6
    With no backup and a non-working optical Superdrive there are not many options left.
    Your iMac is capable of Internet recovery if you have applied iMac EFI Update 1.8, but that option does not seem to be working for you.
    The only options I know of are:
    Get a bootable El Capitan USB thumb drive installer from a friend or purchase one from Amazon or eBay.
    or
    Replace your Superdrive and install OS 10.6 from the Install DVD, update to 10.6.8, then download/install El Capitan.
     
  7. B6spb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Location:
    Stoke on trent
    #7
    Tried a bootable sub drive with no effect ,do you think it's down to the super drive then ,if I replace the drive maybe I stand a chance of getting my iMac running again?
     
  8. Partron22 macrumors 68000

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #8
  9. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #9
    1. Are you sure that you have a working bootable USB thumb drive? What are the specific symptoms when it does not start (I assume you hold the option key at startup and then select the USB drive from the boot manager)? Have you booted any Mac with it? If it is a verified working bootable USB drive, then there is no reason it shouldn't work unless you have some other problems besides a erased HD, a failed Superdrive, and no Internet Recovery. It may be time to take the iMac to Apple repair due to your limited resources.

    2. If you replace the Superdrive then you should be able to install your shipped OS from the Install DVD assuming the replacement Superdrive is not DOA, installed correctly, and the Install DVD is still functional. If you have other problems then who knows.

    Partron22 has a good suggestion to try cleaning the Superdrive.
     
  10. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #10
    Do you have access to -another- Mac (not the one that's broken)?

    I'd try to get ahold of another copy of the OS, and install it onto a USB flash drive.

    Then, take it to your iMac and see if you can boot and install that way.
     

Share This Page