Please Help with Text Wrangler

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by etnad, Sep 23, 2012.

1. etnad macrumors newbie

I am new to the forum I hope this is the correct one to post ...:confused:

Is there an Applescript I can use in text wrangler to select a folder and
    1) zap gremlins in every file.
    2) Save every file with specific txt enchoding (example Latin 9) and whichever Carriage return?
    I really like Text wrangler and I use the great AS recording facilities but I am a newbie in AS
    If anyone could help it will be great
    Regards and thanks again

2. kryten2 macrumors 6502a

3. etnad, Sep 23, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2012

etnad thread starter macrumors newbie

the first script doesn't work unfortunately.
    Looking at Text Wrangler Applescript dictionary the syntax seems different, however I am not particulary skilled in AS therefore unable to understand how to fix the script.

As for Camelot reply, I did not mention I was talking about "text" files as I asked help for TextWrangler BBedit which only work with text files, else I would have stated the various documents I was trying to work with had they been of various kind. "Zap Gremlins" is an option only available in BBedit or TextWrangler. There might be other programs performing the same operation, however googling "Zap Gremlins" returns only BBedit files types.

I posted this question here hoping to find some help.

Regards and thanks.

4. kryten2, Sep 23, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2012

kryten2 macrumors 6502a

Can you post an example txt file to work with? Thanks. You can zip it and attach it to your post.

Try this :

Code:
    set targetFolder to choose folder
    set destinationFolder to choose folder

tell application "Finder"
    	repeat with i from 1 to count files of folder targetFolder
    		set aFile to file i of targetFolder
    		set fileName to name of aFile
    		set savePath to (destinationFolder as string) & fileName