Please Recommend Me a Good Trackpad Protector

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by MBAForever, Feb 4, 2012.

1. MBAForever macrumors newbie

What are some of the trackpad protector you would recommend. I got a free one for my MBA purchase but it is rather thick and not responsive to tapping.

2. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

mrsir2009

Did this free one that came with your MacBook Air actually come on the MacBook Air's trackpad? If so, I think it might be protective film :eek:

3. Xikum macrumors 6502

4. Stingray454 macrumors 6502a

This. I got the 2010 Air as soon as it was released, so I'm closing in on 1.5 years of daily use, often for several hours. The trackpad looks and feels like new, I can't really imagine how you would go about scratching it. Also the smoothness and responsiveness of the original trackpad is just way, way better than any plastic cover on top of it. Just go without and enjoy your computer as it's supposed to be.

5. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

mrsir2009

Yeah. That cover is not a cover OP, its a protective seal for shipping. Its not designed to be on there when you use your trackpad. It'll feel worlds better with it off :)

6. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

I use the Moshi Palmguard. It comes with a plastic wrist area protector and a matching trackpad film. The colors all match very well with the rest of the machine and I do not have issues with response on the trackpad. In fact the trackpad now has a nice textured feel, yet remains relatively smooth for finger movement.

7. fade- macrumors member

I'm using one from 'power support' It's not bad, at least tap to click still works and the gestures can be detected with reasonable sensitivity.

avoid those that come with palmrest protectors (for example moshi), they tend to be very thick and reduce the sensitivity of your trackpad.

8. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod