Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wildatheart

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 28, 2008
I am a photographer and mostly work on the road with my 2011 Macbook Pro 17”, with a 3G OWC 1TB SSD in the optical bay for Lightroom catalogs and a Samsung 1TB 850 Pro in the hard drive bay with one partition for my system and another for my User directory. There’s no doubt it’s useful life has been extended by SSD’s, and I need the storage, so no retina for me… anyway, back to my Mac Pro, which I don’t use as often, but I would like to eek some life out of, too. I have been buying some upgrades; Sonnet Pro Card, USB Card, SSD’s. I may be missing a trick or two when it comes to the best setup, so any advice gratefully received.

Predictably, I mainly work in Lightroom and Photoshop. The LR catalogs and images are all on the RAID0 Hard Drives, my system and Home folder are on the Sonnet Pro.

OSX10.9.5
2008 Mac Pro 3,1 2 x 2.8GHz Quad Core

2x4TB WD Black in RAID0
2x4TB WD Red in RAID0

Card slot #1 (PCIe 2.0 x16) NVIDEA GeForce 8800GT

Card slot #2 (PCIe 2.0 x16) Sonnet Tempo SSD Pro Plus with 2x 512GB Samsung 840 Pro in RAID0, with a 100gb partition for my boot volume Macintosh System and a 923GB partition for my Home directory; 950MB/s read.

Card slot #3 (PCIe 1.0 x4) Inateck 4 Ports PCI-E USB 3.0 Expansion Card

Card slot #4 (PCIe 1.0 x4) cheap PCIE to SATA III and eSATA CONTROLLER CARD, ASM1061, connected to eSATA HD dock (this card lets me hot swap drives in the dock, whereas the eSATA ports on the Sonnet Pro don’t). Link Speed 6 Gigabit, negotiated speed 1.5 Gigabit, due to the dock I imagine; I can get 6 Gigabit link on an internal SSD, though only in slot #1 and #2.

I am about to install 1x 128GB Samsung 830 and 1x 120GB Samsung 840 EVO in RAID0 in the lower optical bay, connected to the two sata ports on the motherboard, to use as a scratch/cache disk for PS and LR.