Please tell me what I'm doing wrong!!!

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Lost2342, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. Lost2342 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #1
    I downloaded Handbrake and VLC today and every time i start to encode a dvd, handbrake immediatly tells me that it is done, and puts the icon on my desktop for the m4v file. I am definitely a rookie here and i need help! I want to put a bunch of my dvds on my mbp so i can use my apple tv to watch them on the tv. Please help. I watched a few videos online of how to use it but it seemed that they were doing the same thing as me, with a different outcome.....
     
  2. TyWahn macrumors 6502

    TyWahn

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    #2
    Make sure the title you are ripping is the right one. The title that HB chooses by default isn't always right. To be sure, start the DVD in the DVD player app first, and take note of the title once the movie starts. Then select that title from the drop-down in HB.
     
  3. Lost2342 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #3
    Ok, i will try that, thanks for responding. 192 views and 1 response. Hopefully its the right one. Thanks again.
     
  4. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #4
    Make sure you copy VLC to your applications folder, otherwise handbrake can't find it.
     
  5. andyroochoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne. UK
    #5
    make sure you have selected the to and from chapters e.g 1 to 16 at the top.

    handbrake and vlc need to both be either 32 bit versions or 64bit version together, so a 32bit version of vlc with a 64bit version of handbrake wont work and vice versa.
     
  6. Lost2342 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #6
    Thanks for trying to help me out guys, but i must be really dumb because it is still finishing the encoding process as soon as i start it. I clicked the "browse" tab and tried choosing the movie from different locations. Still the same thing happening. Im gonna pull my hair out here!! I copied VLC to my apps folder, made sure all chapters are selected......what should the destination file toolbar say? Im losing it here!!!!!
     
  7. harpster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #7
    To narrow down the problem why don't you get RipIt http://thelittleappfactory.com/ripit/

    You can use that free for 10 times I think to rip some DVD's. Then you can Handbreak to encode those ripped files as an m4v. If that don't work I'd reinstall Handbreak and try again. If it's a movie, Handbreak is usually pretty good at finding all the chapters in the VOB folder.
     
  8. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #8
    If you really want to make this easy, download the scripts HERE that have been stickied at the top of this forum. Many here swear by this. I have done close to 100 DVD encodes and I can swear to you it's a breeze.
     
  9. Lost2342 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #9
    So, after i download batch rip, vlc, handbrake, and fairmount it will be a breeze ?? lol seems like a lot.
     
  10. ssgrif macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #10
    after selecting the movies have you added it to the queue before pressing go?
     
  11. OptyCT macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #11
    All you need is Handbrake.

    From your description, I can't tell what you're doing wrong. However, I'm pretty sure that it's not ripping the correct title. To find the main video title #, launch the DVD using "DVD Player". Start playing the movie (not the previews, menu, extras - the movie itself). While the movie's playing, find the movie title # by using the DVD Player menu at the top of the screen (the one next to the Apple logo). I don't have it in front of me, so I can't remember the exact one (it might be view-title?). When you put your cursor on it, a drop down box will appear listing all of the title #'s. The one with the check box next to it is the main video title #.

    After you have the main video title, go back into Handbrake and select File-Open Source (Title Specific). Enter the title # and you're ready to go. Please note, I only need to go into DVD Player to find the title # when Handbrake scans for 99 titles. Some DVD's contain this form of copy protection which uses dozens of "dummy" titles to confuse programs like Handbrake. Most the time, a DVD will contain less than 30 titles and Handbrake will find the main video title on its own.
     
  12. harpster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #12
    Not exactly correct... Handbreak (latest versions) do not have copy protection removal included and will use VLC for that. RipIt does remove copy protection. I like to rip with one program and use Handbrake for encoding... personal preference I guess.
     
  13. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #13
    Correct. but it should probably be pointed out that vlc actually doesn't even run. in its package contents is the dvdcss dynamic library .... this is what hb will "link" to in order to "read" a commercial dvd. But yes you are correct that in and of itself HandBrake can not defeat any copy protection as such.
     

Share This Page