Plex me

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by msugarpants, Jan 24, 2014.

  1. msugarpants macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    #1
    I am on an ATV2. I used to have plex, but then updated to latest update. Then, i jailbroke it with season pass hoping to downgrade and re-brake....right clicked for the 5.0.2 (the last version that ran plex i think), but to no avail. Then I tried plexconnect...but failed, even after tutorials on youtube, when it came to the terminal command, it would not take. New tutorials yeilded the same results. Ive spent 10 hours on this over the course of the week. Im ready to wait for the latest OS to be jailbroken, but I dont like leaving problems unsolved...nor do i expect them to include plex. I also considered using Infuse, but it seems to be less user friendly. So....yeah. I could use some help. No blobs are saved. I dont know if that matters if you right click and chose the OS from season pass. If it does, that explains why I cant downgrade. Thanks for letting me vent. phew! I need phone-tech help, haha.:confused:
     
  2. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    Have you looked at PlexConnect. Apparently it works with non jailbroken devices.
     
  3. jmcgeejr macrumors 6502

    jmcgeejr

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    What problems with Plex Connect are you having? Are you having a problem generating the ssl certs?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    You might also try asking your question in the Plex Forums, if you haven't already.

    It appears, they have:
     
  5. msugarpants thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    #5
    thanks for the help. Yeah, I will post on plex forums tonight. I get stuck on the terminal part of plexconnect...not the certs. anyone else, feel free to chime in or PM me.
     
  6. ugru macrumors 6502

    ugru

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    Caput Mundi
    #6
    Use PLEXIFY...it just works...

    Plex connect is quite good, there is only a little glitch, when you have long films divided in 2 parts named accordingly (The Godfather: Part II, for example [Part1] [Part2]) on other plex clients at the end of part one the film seamlessly switch to Part2. On Apple TV with Plex Connect it just stop at the end of part 1...
     
  7. institute macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    #7
    Plexconnect should handle multipart movies as long as no transcoding is involved, meaning that the files are in ATV native formats.
     
  8. ugru macrumors 6502

    ugru

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    Caput Mundi
    #8
    mmmm....

    have to check the extention of the fles....but why other plex clients (iPhone/iPad iOS ald OSX ones) play them well and PlexConnect can't?
     
  9. johnmerrill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    #9
  10. institute macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    #10
    It's because that for some Plex clients more files types are native than for the ATV. The developer of Plexconnect says PMS cannot stack play files when transcoding is involved. I suggest going to the PMS sub forum on the Plex forum and asking about it there.
     
  11. Sgtarky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    #11
    way too much work involved. its far easier just to unhook my appletv and plug in my roku when I want view anything on plex, in fact I just use the appletv for air play. i had tried plexconnect ,they may have improved it but it required changing dns then netflix wouldnt work until you changed it back. so it is kind of a dead hockey puck because I am not buying movies , buying access to streaming services offered, just netflix.
     
  12. jmcgeejr macrumors 6502

    jmcgeejr

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12
    If your netflix didnt work it was because you did something wrong, plex connect will only hijack traffic that goes to trailers(or whatever you set it to) anything else gets passed along to the dns you set in the settings.cfg file (you should usually just put in your router IP there)
     
  13. iHobby macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    #13
    PlexConnect set up too complicated for a novice

    They should have an applet to handle PlexConnect setup on your Mac/PC and an illustrated/screenshot slide instruction appear to instruct on AppleTV part of setup.
     

Share This Page