Plex Media Server PPC

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by justperry, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. justperry, Jan 21, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2013

    justperry macrumors G3

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #1
    As the title says, I want to run Plex Media Server on my Powerbook.

    I am 100% sure there is a PPC Executable, I tried before and got it to launch but I forgot and deleted the Installer.

    There is a download page for all/old versions but I don't know which one is Universal/Fat binary.
    Since I have a limited internet connection I don't want to waste it so anyone knows which version has the PMS PPC Executable inside the App bundle?

    Cheers Perry
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Plex Media Server was never a universal app. Plex was at one point, but only a fork of it is now.
     
  3. wobegong Guest

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #3
    Try XBMC, the latest stable version (11) is fully PPC compatible (I use it on my PMG5) and its smooth and reliable.
     
  4. justperry thread starter macrumors G3

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    I think you are wrong here Intell, there was a PMS PPC Executable inside the App, if you moved that to /Library/Application Support/Plex/plex Media server and run it it worked.
    I did this a couple of years ago but didn't have anything with a client on it so I got rid of it, and it ran on my PPC machine.(Really true)
    I also went to search for it and some say it did work at one time.
    Not only that, one of the Dev's had it running on a PPC.


    I don't need nor want XBMX, I need the PMS server, My TV is looking for it, not for XBMC.
    Anyway, thanks.
     
  5. wobegong Guest

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #5
  6. justperry thread starter macrumors G3

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #6
  7. wobegong Guest

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
  8. justperry, Jan 21, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2013

    justperry thread starter macrumors G3

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #8
    I know but I had the Executable running 100% sure, now, as I said before there are a few pages on the Plex forums which say there are Fat versions of the PMS inside the Plex app.

    You can link me whatever but I myself had it running before, so I know it is there somewhere.

    Several people got it to work here.
    http://forums.plexapp.com/index.php/topic/3430-standalone-plex-media-server/
     
  9. ckweb macrumors newbie

    ckweb

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #9
    Everyone, I found a copy of 0.8.5 here: https://anonfiles.com/file/f17a2847c86cb510fa303f982fc0bf9d
     
  10. justperry thread starter macrumors G3

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #10
  11. ckweb macrumors newbie

    ckweb

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #11
    Well, you never know who might need or simply want to play around with it ;)
     
  12. cw48494 macrumors regular

    cw48494

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #12
    Does this work? I have plenty of PPC and would LOVE to use one as my dedicated PLEX server.
     
  13. ckweb macrumors newbie

    ckweb

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #13
    My honest answer, it should. Following the instructions given by other users in the plex forums, I managed to load it up on a Powerbook G4 laptop running Leopard. The problem for me was that although when I launch the server program and the server menu shows up on the menu bar, once I click on the menu itself, it only displays two out of the nine menu items it should have, which are the "about plex media center" and "quit".

    Since others have had success on other G4s, I can only assume that I am missing a small configuration tweak, preference, or setting somewhere. I looked for more info on others successes, but Google has squeezed all it has for me so far.

    Maybe someone has that secret piece of this puzzle and will post here (that's part of the reason I hunted this elusive software down in the first place). I had a G5 iMac which I recently setup for afriend whose old setup became way too slow where I could have done an install and more testing with it.

    If anyone has a running G4 or G5, like you cw, maybe give it a try, it may just be my setup's got something gumming up the works under my Leopard's OS! :)
     
  14. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #14
    Not for me. I'm getting the prohibited symbol - OS X says it's an Intel App. Can't get to the thread linked - dead link - seems Plex changed the forum software.
     
  15. Dannyshing27, Oct 15, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2015

    Dannyshing27 macrumors regular

    Dannyshing27

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #15
    https://web.archive.org/web/20111104013218/http://wiki.plexapp.com/index.php/Downloads

    Is the best link for downloading for testing. As I recall in the past the server ran constantly but it was configured from inside the Plex player. I will have a look into it when I get a spare moment.

    For the moment I would consider downloading on old version of plex and setting it up on an intel mac just to see how it all fits together.
     
  16. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #16
  17. ckweb macrumors newbie

    ckweb

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #17
    @ Magicboy - and for anyone trying to run this on a PPC Mac: the PowerPC application is inside the 0.8.5 Intel Plex app.

    To get the server app that runs on a PPC Mac, you have to right click the Plex app and select "Show Package Contents". Once the window opens, go into the "Contents" folder, then the "Resources" folder, and finally open the "Plex" folder. Inside, you will see the PowerPC "Plex Media Server" application. Then, drag the application out to use it on your Mac. When you open this app, it will display the Plex menu in your Mac's menu bar.

    Ps. For me it only displays an "About Plex Media Server" and "Quit", but hopefully it will work for someone else... I hope this helps!

    For others, here is the server app link again. :)
     
  18. ckweb, Apr 25, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2017

    ckweb macrumors newbie

    ckweb

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #18
    Darn, the file hosting site with the application link went down, so here's an updated link, which I hope doesn't bite the dust either.. the file's just too large to upload directly on here! :mad:

    https://anonfile.com/vd4eBdbdb9/Plex-v0.8.5.dmg
     
  19. Puchacamilo macrumors newbie

    Puchacamilo

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2017
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile.
    #19
    I have the same situation, the server 0.9.1.0 it is running on PPC, but I don't know where I can config. have you know how?
     

Share This Page