Plex's Grid View Channel Guide for Live TV Now Available for Apple TV

Discussion in 'iOS Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Jul 12, 2018.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Plex's new Live TV grid view, which is designed to allow customers to find TV shows and movies through a traditional grid-based user interface, is now available for Apple TV.

    The grid view is available for both live TV content and content saved using the built-in DVR functionality in Plex. It first rolled out on the web in June before launching for tvOS today.

    [​IMG]

    Grid view organizes TV shows by channel and time of day, much like a standard cable TV guide, with a scrollable timeline format for an overview of what's on every channel that's available to you.

    Accessing live TV and the new grid view option requires a Plex Pass, priced starting at $4.99 per month or $39.99 per year. Plex is currently offering a deal through Best Buy that provides six months of Plex Pass service for $19.99.

    Plex has been offering live TV options since August 2017, with customers able to access over-the-air television channels with no cable subscription using an antenna and a TV tuner. Free over-the-air programming includes major US networks like ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox, and the CW along with local programming, news, and sports.

    Note: MacRumors is an affiliate partner with Best Buy. When you click a link and make a purchase, we may receive a small payment, which helps us keep the site running.

    Article Link: Plex's Grid View Channel Guide for Live TV Now Available for Apple TV
     
  2. shpankey, Jul 12, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018

    shpankey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    #2
    Nope... not working here. Just checked
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2018 ---
    Just checked plex website, no mention of it for apple tv yet, in fact they say it's still only available on their own web app. Unless this is a rolling release? I would think this would be in their blog though, what's your source??
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2018 ---
    Found it, you have to click on guide, then on channels... not nearly as good as the web app though. :/
     
  3. KhrisGarcia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #3
    I have this on 3 Apple TVs now with a home run prime and Comcast. Works great. Very happy they went with the grid menu. It’s much easier for me.
     
  4. shpankey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    #4
    I should add, that pic is not representative of how it looks on atv, thats from the web app. Half the screen is cutoff w/ a lame info section and the atv grid is much smaller. :/ Better than no grid I guess, but wish we would have got the web app grid!
     
  5. dbrewood macrumors regular

    dbrewood

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    I guess this is of no use if one has not bought a pass (yet) and lives in the UK?
     
  6. Muttznuttz macrumors member

    Muttznuttz

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Correct. I just checked their site (I have Plex Pass). Input UK and region as London. No broadcasts found
     
  7. dbrewood macrumors regular

    dbrewood

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #7
    @Muttznuttz drat, I thought that may well be the situation, thanks for confirming.
     
  8. ftaok macrumors 603

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #8
    I haven't followed this space very closely in the last few years. Wondering if anything has changed in regards to CableCard and DVR recording on anything other than Windows Media Center.

    Question for you.

    Does the Plex DVR record cable channels such as ESPN, AMC, TNT, etc?

    Does the Plex DVR record premium channels such as HBO and Showtime?

    Thanks.
     
  9. jeffreco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    #9
    It will record cable channels if you have the right hardware. Plex works with devices from Silicon Dust. These are basically network tuners that can take either an over the air signal, or cable with a cable card. If your local cable company encrypts the premium channels, which most do, I don't believe Plex will record those channels. It works really well on the cable channels an will edit out commercials automatically if you choose that option.
     
  10. Cordorb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    #10
    I still keep an old windows 7 system going ( support to 2020 ) to make Windows .WTV files via media Center
    and Plex /nPlayer/infuse/VLC apps can use the WTV format on all but the encypts channels.
    Still need the same Windows system to see encypts channels files

    Not sure Silicon Dust will ever get right to decode that ( they have tried ) things may change in 2020.
    This would leave only tivo

    SO CABLE CARDS in a silicon dust type device still work BUT getting harder to find the right person in a cable company to activate or fix problems after all these mergers.
    -----------------
    Side note - Windows media player still has the best jump about selections buttons for skipping soap ad's.
     
  11. Shoesy macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #11
    You do need a Plex Pass, but it should work in the uk - website certainly shows British channels...

    https://www.plex.tv/en-gb/live-tv-dvr/
     
  12. mwd25, Jul 14, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2018

    mwd25 macrumors regular

    mwd25

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Location:
    Tempe
    #12
    Is this available on roku? Ive never seen a grid on it. In fact, even when I have the plex site open in firefox, where it says "channels" in thepicture mine says Discover. If I click on that I still dont get "Channels" option. Just watch now,movies, news, show and sports.

    *Update*
    Never mind all, I had to update the server to newest version. Now all is well
     
  13. Spendlove macrumors 6502

    Spendlove

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Location:
    Cambridge UK
    #13
    Is anyone in the UK using Plex for live TV? If so, what is your set up.
     
  14. dbrewood macrumors regular

    dbrewood

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #14
    Yeah but if you look up UK and North West and check availability nothing shows up.
     

Share This Page