Plextor M6e for mac pro 2008

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by vicentk, Feb 17, 2014.

  1. vicentk, Feb 17, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2014

    vicentk macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1
    May I know dose it support to be a boot driver ?

    I know OWC had some product can.

    Plextor M6e 512GB PX-AG512M6e PCI-Ex4 SSD
     
  2. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    after I'm found some information it seem support : The M6e also supports UEFI boot mode for motherboards with UEFI to provide fast start-up times. The M6e has a MTBF of 2.4 million hours and comes with a five years warranty.

    May I know did OSX using UEFI ?
     
  3. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    Finally I'm bought one 512GB today, after install it fine and bootable.

    Did anyone know which test software can test the speed ?
     
  4. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    After the installation I'm start the clean re-install the OSX
     

    Attached Files:

  5. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    some test for reference
     

    Attached Files:

  6. 666sheep, Feb 23, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2014

    666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    Your Xbench score is extremely low, this drive is capable of about 700MB/s R/W. Try another benchmark like Blackmagic (free) or Quickbench (paid).

    Anyway thanks for sharing this. How much is it, if you don't mind asking? Seems that ATM it's only available in HK.

    Edit: I see why the benchmark numbers are low: you've put the card in slot 3 which in 3,1 is PCIe 1.0 x4. Card has x4 connector but its Marvell controller is only x2. So in slots 3 and 4 you can achieve ~400MB/s max (due to 8b/10b encoding). Put the card in slot 2 to run the drive at full speed.
     
  7. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Thanks your information first.

    512GB in HK is around USD500.

    May I know if I move the card to other slot do I need to reinstall?
     
  8. TzunamiOSX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    The card is in a PCIe 1.0 Slot of the Mac Pro 2008. Put it to the slot near the GPU (Slot 2).
     
  9. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    Thank all and will change the slot today, after will test one more time.
     
  10. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    Dear All

    After I'm move to slot 2 the speed it seem double.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #11
    That's better :)
    Another question: I saw MPX-3132 in your Airport slot (but no SATA cables connected to it). Do you use it? What speed does it deliver if so? I know that it's SATA II but I'm curious about real world transfers, especially with SSDs. If it would saturate SATA II bus, it would be nice.
     
  12. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #12
    :D you so smart, this card I'm bought it around 2 years ago, in past I'm just use for windows driver. As my remember it just SATA2 and in past 2 years the ssd is too expensive, so I'm never try any ssd on it and in my experience it not much stable, sometime Mac can't the Windows Drive, so I'm give up and use boot camp again.

    Some history : in past I'm had a software raid by 4 hdd disk and 1 hdd for windows.
     
  13. moutian macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Detroit
    #13
    I installed the 128g version of the card on my 2009 mac pro, but the benchmark is somehow different.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. vicentk thread starter macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14

Share This Page