pllzz help installing win7x64 boot camp drivers

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by aaalll, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. aaalll macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    #1
    i have a mbp 6,2
    have legit snow leopard dvd with boot camp 3.0

    if i run the boot camp setup in win 7, it says my laptop doesn't support x64.
    if i install the .msi it says i don't have the elevated privileges to do it.
    if check the properties of the .msi the option to run the program as an administrator is grayed out
    if i change the user account settings to eliminate the prompt to run as admin and then reboot, i still cannot open the damn installer because it says i need the priviliges.

    i can't apply the boot camp 3.1 update on fact that 3.0 has not yet been installed.

    wtf do i need to do to install these drivers.

    thx
     
  2. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #3

    Disable the User Access Control completely - you have to REBOOT WINDOWS to enable the changed UAC setting - then try running the x64 installer again.
     
  3. aaalll thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Celtic: I'll try that when I get home.
    Winni: as stated in my post, I did reboot and still was not able to change the permissions. When I went back to the user acct settings, my changes were still there. That's the whole problem. The change in user acct settings did nothing.

    Thx
     
  4. aaalll thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    #5
    and the nvidia driver off their website.

    so why am i not able to choose my display's native resolution??
    it should be 1440x900

    windows shows my "native" at 1680x1050
    nvidia control center does the same.

    wtf!!!

    thx

    also, wtf is up with this:

    Installed Memory (RAM): 4.00 GB (3.86 GB Usable)

    thx
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    It would help if you reminded us which Mac and which version of Windows you installed.

    In most cases "missing" memory is simply due to the fact that some RAM is dedicated to the GPU or that you are using a 32 bit version of Windows which is incapable of addressing more than 4GB of total address space.

    B
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    Missed that, I guess ;)

    The title has him trying to install win7 x64 on his MBP 6,2
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    What? You want me to (re-)read the whole thread? ;)

    B
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    Nah, its too early for that. Get yourself a coffee and enjoy the morning :)
     
  9. aaalll thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    #10
    yea whether or not i actually installed x64

    is an ****ing enigma. i've see x64, x86, "system 32" i don't know what the **** is going on. i tried to install x64 and those are the bootcamp drivers i installed.

    still wondering why i can't choose my resolution at 1440 x 900.
    now i'm hooked up with steam, and steam won't let me choose it either.
    wtf

    thx
     

Share This Page