Pls.help I forgot my password but I'm log in right now

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PinkSakura, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. PinkSakura macrumors member

    PinkSakura

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #1
    I just installed a new application for my Macbook Pro but when I clicked to use it. It asked for my password. I typed my password but it says it's wrong. I am using this computer right now and now I want to change my password but everytime I try to type my password it says it's wrong. How can I change my password while I am on ? I don't want to use the OS X CD to start again bec. I just moved from Macbook to Macbook Pro and I have a lot of datas here.

    I must've been so tired that I forgot my password.. ugh.. pls. help me what to do.
     
  2. kgeier82 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #2
    Sounds like the machine isnt yours.

    If it is, I cant imagine you will get much help here with that scenario.
     
  3. PinkSakura thread starter macrumors member

    PinkSakura

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #3
    How can you say it is not mine ?
    My husband just bought it for me last Sunday so don't tell me that. I am just having lots of things in my mind right now plus logging on facebook with the passwords and using other gadgets other than Macbook and having a small baby makes me so forgetful nowadays.

    Anyone pls. help ? I want to go to bed but i want this problem to be solved..pleaseeee...
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    You were already reading another thread that gave you the answer. Just follow those instructions and you'll be fine.
     
  5. PinkSakura thread starter macrumors member

    PinkSakura

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #5
    which thread ?????? pls. it is near 3 am.. i wanna go to sleep.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    You were just viewing forgot my administrator password, which has your answer.
     
  7. PinkSakura thread starter macrumors member

    PinkSakura

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #8
    I honestly dont know what has been happening to me lately.I am so forgetful.I apologize ..maybe i am too sleepy as well.
    I am logged in in my Macbook Pro Mac OS X version 10.6.5 I have the 15 inch one and my husband just got it for me last Sunday. I can't find the reset button and I tried to change my password but it asked me for my old one before I can change my password.

    And if I use the Cd that came with this Macbook.. would that mean restarting over again and losing all of my pictures,datas from my old macbook that I just finished transferring to this new Macbook pro the other day ???

    Thank you for any help. This is my computer and I understand if some people would think that it's not mine. But I swear to GOD ..This is mine !
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    Please read the information and follow the steps that have been provided. Using the install DVD to reset your password will NOT affect any of your data.
     
  9. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #10
    @OP: Well it sounds like your getting a bit cranky. Why don't you sleep your MacBook Pro (so you won't need the password when you wake it up tomorrow), get a good nights sleep and come back fresh and dandy in the morning :)
     
  10. PinkSakura thread starter macrumors member

    PinkSakura

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #11
    Okay thank you very much.Maybe I'll just sleep for now and just do this tomorrow... ugh.. now i need to go up in the ceiling stock room and grab the Macbook box to get the CD ..
    Thank you guys for making me realize to take note and write down my password in some memo pad or put it in Iphone notes so I would never have this problem ever again.

    Good night.
    x
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    Before sleeping it, go to System Preferences > Security > General and make sure "Require password to wake this computer from sleep or screen saver" is UNchecked.
    Or simply choose a password that's easy for you to remember.
     
  12. PinkSakura thread starter macrumors member

    PinkSakura

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #13
    I guess it is fine to sleep now ?

    okay thank you again.
     
  13. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #14
    Yep, you can sleep now.
     
  14. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
    Yep
     
  15. AdamRock macrumors 6502a

    AdamRock

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #17
    i would not be surprised if the OP stole the mbp from someone...
     
  16. kgeier82 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #18
    turn the computer off and then back on.

    Problem solved.
     
  17. Apple OC macrumors 68040

    Apple OC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Hogtown
    #19
    Remember to feed the Kid when you wake up :cool:
     
  18. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
  19. SDub90 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Location:
    Long Island
    #21
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    I know this may seem silly, but it happens a lot: have you tried leaving the password field blank? Even if you have no set password it'll ask for one anyway. I see this happen several times a week at work, people come in trying to install or update something and they go insane trying to remember their password and it turns out it was nothing.
     
  20. kidwithdimples macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #22
  21. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #23
  22. PinkSakura thread starter macrumors member

    PinkSakura

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #24
    I don't understand why a lot of people here assume that just because you forgot your password means YOU STOLE the computer :( :rolleyes: tsk tsk tsk.. some people can afford a freaking Macbook Pro computer !


    And the weird thing is that.. I did not insert the OS X Install CD and just tried to put the password again to the application I downloaded last night and it worked.
    It is so weird.. It's the same password I have been typing over and over again last night. And it's my main password to this computer as well. How come it did not work last night and it worked today ? Strange....
    By the way, the application that I downloaded was Check Up.It looks like a green apple.
    Someone mentioned that I should update my memory.. My MBP's memory is 4GB and used bandwidth says 282.3 KB and 245.96 GB is still available :D

    Well.. there.. I don't know why my password didn't work last night.But it's the same password I typed today and it worked.


    I have another question.. I have the Macintosh HD on the upper right side of my screen and I also have it below on the application folder. I want to delete the Macintosh HD icon on the upper right side of my screen bec. I just want to use the one on my dock. How do I do that ?
     
  23. Apple OC macrumors 68040

    Apple OC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Hogtown
    #25
    caps lock?
     

Share This Page