Plug PS2 or Other Source Into iMac To Use As A Screen?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by GilGrissom, Aug 23, 2007.

  1. GilGrissom macrumors 65816

    GilGrissom

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #1
    Hey all.

    Something for you to ponder on.

    is it at all possible to plug in a Playstation 2 (or other such device for that matter) into an iMac (specifically a 20" C2D iMac that was available right before the new aluminium ones came out!) to use the iMac screen for the PS2?

    Basically I've moved into my new flat but don't have a TV, and don't intend to get one if I can help it. I do have my iMac however, which I plan to buy a TV tuner for in the future. But the girlfriend and I are thining about getting a PS2, but have nowhere to plug it into, but being as it has such a nice large 20" screen, it seems a waste not to use what the iMac can offer...if at all possible.

    Currently my line of thinking is going down the path of getting a video capture device to plug into the iMac over USB, which the PS2 could then plug into...but could that be put into full screen mode? just like a normal screen would be for a PS2?

    All comments and discussions welcome!

    You'll have to bare with me if I don't respond for a while, I'm having to use my local library for Internet as I'm having a right pain getting broadband in my flat.

    Cheers.
     
  2. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #2
    You can get Elgato's EyeTV Hybrid. Allows you to watch TV on your Mac as well as connect any video device, game consoles, VCR's and camcorders with zero latency.
     
  3. swordfish5736 macrumors 68000

    swordfish5736

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cesspool
    #3


    i was looking at that the other day but couldnt find the info if they were available with an HDMI port. Anybody know?
     
  4. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #5
    Oh,you didn't mention anything about an HDMI hook up in either your posting or your post title.
     
  5. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #6
    He is not the OP
     
  6. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #7
    No HDMI, but it does support OTA HD
     
  7. jf8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #8
    This is a bad idea. The latency will be bad for video games (yes, the product description says "virtually" no latency and "zero" latency, but there will still be some latency). Any games where timing is useful (like rhythm games) will have issues unless they can compensate for it.
     
  8. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #9
    Oops, still got my mind on my 24" 2.8 iMac on the way. :D
     
  9. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #10
    There was NO latency at all on my EyeTV Hybrid..

    I have had my Wii and N64 hooked up.
     
  10. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #11
    Lol, at first I thought it was the OP too. But I looked twice..

    I have my mind on my 24" 2.4 on the way... Making me go crazy. haha
     
  11. PShot07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
  12. dannewell15 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #13
    I just got the eyetv hybrid with the intention of conecting a ps2 and I now have it all set up. On my Macbook it works brillianty. If there is any latency I haven't really noticed it. Me and my friends were playing Area 51 and THUG for hours yesterday. It was awesome. One thing I would say though, when you put it full screen it isn't quite full full screen if you get me. On my Macbook it is perfectly playable but your iMac will have a higher resoulution. I just took some screen shots for you, the first one is with it at its native size, the second is full screen.

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
  13. nlivo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ballarat, Australia
    #14


    how did you make your dock like that?
     
  14. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
  15. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #16
    Why 720p? That's NBC and they broadcast in 1080i.

    And that really does look great.
     
  16. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #17
    Maybe it is 1080i, not sure.
     
  17. steviem macrumors 68020

    steviem

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    New York, Baby!
    #18
    Wow that looks more like in-game footage on Tiger Woods 08 or something rather than TV...

    Looks amazing.
     
  18. dannewell15 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #19
  19. Eric Lewis macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #20
    ok

    what ram do u have? and could you use safari and msn while watching =TV? how much memory is it using?
     
  20. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #21
    Off topic ...

    That statement above is a testament to how far video games have come. Back in the day, saying the reverse (Wow! That's a game, it looks just like TV!) would indicate that the game had great graphics.

    Now, video games look more real than TV.

    Just struck me as funny.

    ft
     
  21. soosy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    #22
    Being able to use an iMac as a second monitor would make me less hesitant about the all-in-one design. For some reason on laptops it's fine, because the main purpose is portability I guess, but on iMacs I'd feel less trapped if I knew when I get a new machine I could still use it as a monitor. Especially getting the big 24".

    I also ran into the difficulty of the Cinema Displays not supporting an analog signal. I couldn't connect my xbox even though I was using a VGA->DVI adapter. Turns out the displays don't support analog over DVI.

    Just had to chime in... I hope Apple supports these things eventually.

    EyeTV only supporting composite is unfortunate.
     
  22. dannewell15 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #23
    To the person who asked about RAM ( I assume that you were directing that at me ) I have 2gb and yes I can watch TV and use safari and bittorrent at the same time. I haven't tried using MSN at the same time but I don't think you would have issues.

    If in the near future anyone does find a way to input HD to a Macbook then please post a bulletin saying so b/c that would be great. :)
     
  23. swordfish5736 macrumors 68000

    swordfish5736

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cesspool
    #24
    the op didnt want hdmi for his ps2 I was wondering about support for it so I could run my ps3 thru it.
     
  24. jesteraver macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #25
    I really need to get an HD receiver and test if out on my Elgato.

    Especially with a 24" iMac should be really nice to watch tv :)
     

Share This Page