plugging in iPhone Xs Max to my iMac keeps popping up this dialog!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by 212rikanmofo, Oct 24, 2018.

  1. 212rikanmofo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    #1
    It's annoying, and it happens randomly but right now whenever I connect my iPhone to my iMac using USB cable, it seems to have trouble detecting my device and asks me to download and install a software update for my iPhone, and when I select yes, it always says that the download has failed. Does anyone know what is the cause of this and how to fix this?
     
  2. AxlTJ macrumors member

    AxlTJ

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
  3. Culman10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    #3
    I'm having the same problem with my brand new iPhone Xr
     
  4. Minorite macrumors 6502

    Minorite

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    What's macOS version? I had the same issue with HS and iOS 12.0, but additional software was installed correctly. Have you checked security software/proxy/etc. that can block downloading?

    Edit: Try googling the text of the textbox you've mentioned, there was Apple article about it somewhere.
     
  5. DaveyVigs macrumors regular

    DaveyVigs

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    #5
    Same here.
     
  6. Banglazed macrumors demi-god

    Banglazed

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #6
    Download Xcode from Mac Store, run it and let it download the required components and it should work after
     
  7. 212rikanmofo thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    #7
    macOS Mojave 10.14.1 with iOS 12.1 on Xs Max. The problem doesn't always happen, just randomly. I don't know why.
     
  8. Phil77354 macrumors regular

    Phil77354

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Location:
    Eastern Washington State
    #8
    It seems to me that your new iPhone is still within the period that you receive free customer support from Apple, so you could simply call them up and ask what is causing this.
     
  9. Banglazed macrumors demi-god

    Banglazed

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #9
    It is because you're using a beta iOS. You need Xcode to install the components needed. It will continue to bug you regardless.
     
  10. Minorite macrumors 6502

    Minorite

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
    In addition, beta iOS may require beta Xcode for fresh beta drivers. There was a similar fail with iOS 12 beta 5 (could be wrong about beta version) when beta drivers were not included in regular update.
     

Share This Page

9 October 24, 2018