PLugging in USB device causes my macbook to RESET

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dizzle86, Mar 23, 2009.

  1. dizzle86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #1
    For about the past month or so, I have had a huge problem with my macbook pro. Whenever I plug in a USB device such as an external hardrive, a flashdrive, a digital camera to upload photos, or even my ipod, the whole screen instantly goes dark the second the device is connected. Once the screen goes dark, a message comes up saying that I need to hit the reset button or hold down the power button for several seconds. The only 2 USB devices I can still use to my knowledge without receiving this error are my iphone and my USB mouse. My software is up to date. If I plug in my external hardrive via the firewire port, it works perfectly fine. But if i use the USB port, then BAM same thing happens every time. It used to work perfectly fine up until a month or so ago. I cannot figure out what is causing this to happen. :(

    Somebody please help me and let me know if there is a way to fix this??
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    What you are experiencing is called a Kernel Panic.

    It is often software related, but can also be hardware related.

    If you still have warranty I would advise you to go to your next Apple Store or authorized repair shop.


    Depending on what kind of MacBook Pro you could try the following:
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1411
     
  3. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #3
    1. Try reseting PRAM and SMC
    2. Does that happen in a new user?
    3. Depending on what happens in a new user, you will perform either an archive and install with or without preserving user settings.
    4. If 1-3 doesn't work, then it probably is hardware related.
     
  4. dizzle86 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #4
    Yes it does happen in a new user I tried creating a new user and it still gave me the same problem :(
     
  5. Patriks7 macrumors 65816

    Patriks7

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #5
    Do you by any chance have an iPhone/Touch that you jailbroke? Cause when I did, I had to install this thing from the dev site for jailbreak to work and then uninstall it, so I'm thinking you might have the same problem as I had the same thing happen to me (dark screen with message).
     
  6. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #6
    Try backing up your data and perform an erase and install. If the problem still occurs, set up a repair.
     

Share This Page