Plus next to apps in the App Store? (4.0 related i think)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by JCA90, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. JCA90 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #1
    So after I loaded up 4.0 on my 3Gs, I was playing around, and went into the App store, and next to a few apps, I'll use Pandora as an example, next to where it says how much the app costs, it has a + next to it. At first I thought, maybe it shows if you have it installed, went to another app that I have installed, wasn't there. Then I thought maybe gift the app, but Pandora is free, why would you gift a free app? Then I thought, well this is how you show if an app will be made for multitasking, so i checked Skype, wasn't there. So i was wondering if anyone had an idea of what the + means. And I think it's only 4.0 related because my friends who are still on 3.1.3 don't see it in their app store.
     
  2. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    Yeah they do. The + means it's iPad + iPhone/iPod touch compatible. Unified app. Buy once, works on all of them.
     
  3. ethan028 macrumors 6502a

    ethan028

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    Yeah i noticed that too!

    It means there compatible with both iPhone and iPad.
     
  4. ethan028 macrumors 6502a

    ethan028

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    Wow we both posted at 12:15 lol!
     
  5. Maaz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    #5
    Thats how apps show up in the iPad app store. The apps that are universal.
     
  6. renewed macrumors 68040

    renewed

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Bemalte Blumen duften nicht.
    #6
    Soul mates for sure.
     
  7. JCA90 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
  8. ChrisGonzales90 macrumors 6502a

    ChrisGonzales90

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon USA.
    #8
    Why not?

    multitasking is built in to the OS. Apps dont need it. The OS has it.
     
  9. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #9
    Not true. The apps need to be written to take advantage of it. Wether the app will save state, run a task in background etc.
    The OS doesn't magically know what to do unless the developers tell it to. That is why if you update to 4.0 right now there are no multitasking apps except for the apple default ones.
     

Share This Page