Plz, games that work on GMA 950 graphics?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by seong, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. seong macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #1
    My third thread with 1000 views before. awesome.
    Anyways, I have this specs:

    Intel Graphic GMA 950
    80GB of Hard Drive Disk
    1GB of RAM

    Here are some of the games I tried and runs flawlessly:

    Call of Duty 2
    Starcraft Brood War
    Warcraft III
    Halo (the original one)
    Battlefield 2142
    C&C Tiberium Wars

    For battlefield 2142, I got it somehow working, but the problem is I don't have any legal account to eve GET INTO the game
    For Tiberium Wars, it WAS flawless until the intro movie and menu selection, but once I start the game, which is just like starcraft but with 3D graphics, the game lags, and the more units I create, the more it lags.

    If I install Windows 7 or Windows XP, will I be able to play C&C Tiberium Wars and Battlefield 2142?

    Or are there any other good games?
    I looked into many youtube videos about FPS games for Mac. They look OK.:confused:
     
  2. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #2
    Ok, look at this crap.!!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Z5xZihq8kQ

    This youtube video show that EVEN A NETBOOK CAN RUN IT!
    I don't care if it WAS or IS a netbook, but with specs of 1.6GHz, 1GB of RAM, and GMA 950?
    Holy CR**!
    My Macbook will run C&C3 decently!
     
  3. archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    intel GMA950? never possible to run smoothly. if you want to play game with satisfaction, you must have dedicated graphic card. period. don't expect integrate (share chip). it won't work.
     
  4. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #5
    ok, look at this crap.!!

    ok, my next question is will the new Unibody Polycarbonate Macbook run the game smoothly?
    they have nVidia GeForce 9400M.
    It's decent.
     
  5. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #6
    9400M's are quite capable. I can run L4D1 and 2 on mine in med-high settings.
     
  6. gregorsamsa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    (Metamorphosing near) Staffs, 51st State.
    #7
    I bit old but still germane, link below might give you a better idea of the 9400M's gaming capability . It also compares 9400M with the GMA X3100, which was better than the GMA 950:

    MacBook 9400M benchmarks, et al
     
  7. kaltsasa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Kellogg IA
    #8
    I have nothing of value to add to this thread other than I love Dr. Rick Dagless. :)
     
  8. waffle911 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Location:
    ⇧⌥K = 
    #9
    Most games will run better under Windows 7 for that MacBook. The GMA950 is really little more useful for 3D graphics than a Dorito chip. If you're technically inclined software-wise, you might try fiddling around with Wine, or if you're willing to spend money for a ready-made Wine solution, try a free demo of CrossOver Games. Heck, games would probably run faster if you ran them under Windows in Parallels.

    Before Eve Online got updated graphics, the MacBook I had (same one you have, only with 2GB of RAM) could barely run it at all, and would mostly just end up with massive graphics artifacts and framerates as low as 3 FPS. That model was specifically noted as not being supported by the Mac client for the game. I tried out the Windows client using CrossOver, and it ran better than it did on my desktop PC with a discrete graphics card. It was incredible. But I didn't feel like paying for CrossOver at the time, so it expired and I was left playing it on my old desktop until I got a new MBP. Mind you, the old graphics from Eve Online were designed to be run on older graphics cards. The game even used to be playable on a Pentium 3 with a 56k modem. But the Mac port of it using Cider was just terribly executed.

    One thing though. I would highly recommend getting SMC Fan Control to manually set the system fans up higher to keep it from getting premature hat fatigue. Without it you're likely looking at temps above 80˚C, which is not healthy for electronics.
     
  9. seong thread starter macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #10
    Thanks guys

    I thought of buying the new Macbook over and over again, but then, when I thought of having Core i5 on 15" Macbook Pro, I think I will be waiting to see what will happen in WWDC 2010.:D
    I tried Crossover, and Windows 7, but no luck. I doesn't run.:(
     

Share This Page