Plz help. I screwed up the boot, powermac g4

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by 2poniorb, Nov 21, 2013.

  1. 2poniorb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Europe in the middle of nowhere
    #1
    So I just bought an old powermac g4. When I first booted it, it had Tiger on it. But not knowing much about old macs it looked like it also had os9 on it cause I could choose to boot from a os9 folder. So without thinking I choosed to boot from it thinking it would boot into os9!
    But nope. All I get now when I try to start it is a grey screen with a small floppy disk icon with a flashing question mark on it!

    I have tried to boot holding down alt, but it only shows one hard drive.
    Also, I don't have any mac os cd's to boot from!

    Can anyone please help me with this? :confused:
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    Try zapping the PRAM by holding CMD, OPT (Alt), P, R at boot until you hear the chime a second time...

    That may clear the settings.

    :apple: Altemose :apple:
     
  3. 2poniorb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Europe in the middle of nowhere
    #3
    Ok, I did that and now it seems even worse! Now I only get flashing pixels like an old tv without signal on my monitor when I start the mac!

    And nothing happens when I try to boot holding down alt! :(
     
  4. micahgartman macrumors member

    micahgartman

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    #5
    Hold down the X key on your keyboard when you are booting the computer. This will allow the computer to boot back into OS X.

    Make sure to reset your boot device in the Startup Disk system preference.
     
  5. 2poniorb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Europe in the middle of nowhere
    #6
    Ah, That was quick and easy. Thank you! :)
     

Share This Page