Plz Help! My Mac keeps deselecting what I am working on

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by billierose, Mar 13, 2009.

  1. billierose macrumors newbie

    billierose

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #1
    I don't know how to properly explain what is going on. I will be working on something and the computer will "deselect" what I am working on and the Finder will be in the menu bar. It doesn't open a window though. In other words, I have to click on the open window again to work in it again. Any Ideas? Thx for any help.

    Billie
     
  2. suburbiton macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
  3. billierose thread starter macrumors newbie

    billierose

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #3
    No, I am just clicking around in iTunes or typing or even if I do nothing at all.:confused:
     
  4. suburbiton macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
  5. billierose thread starter macrumors newbie

    billierose

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #5
    This is happening whether I am touching the keyboard at all.
     
  6. suburbiton macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #6
    Oh, well that's easy then! You have a faulty something. Probably keyboard. Get it looked at.

    Done.

    That's £25 please.
     
  7. billierose thread starter macrumors newbie

    billierose

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #7
    That's cute, but my keyboard is fine. I appreciate your effort, thanks anyway:)
     
  8. suburbiton macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #8
    How can you be so sure?
     
  9. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    Do you have Stuffit AVR installed in System Preferences?
     
  10. billierose thread starter macrumors newbie

    billierose

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #10
    because when I press Apple+Tab little icons pop up for each of the open applications for me to choose from and this is not happening when it does it on it's own.
     
  11. billierose thread starter macrumors newbie

    billierose

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #11
    yes! What is going on?
     
  12. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    Open System Preferences and right click on the Stuffit pane, choose remove. That should fix your problem.
     
  13. billierose thread starter macrumors newbie

    billierose

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #13
    Man, thanks! I really appreciate that. My b/f kept telling me it was because the computer was old, but I knew better.:D
     
  14. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  15. billierose thread starter macrumors newbie

    billierose

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #15
    so far so good..thanks! You are kinda' nearby being @ Fort Hood and all.:)
     

Share This Page