PNG versus PNG?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by chameleon, Nov 9, 2007.

1. chameleon macrumors regular

chameleon

Here's an odd one -- at least to me. Granted, I'm a Mac newbie, but...

Check this out:

[​IMG]

Both files are PNG files, but when you double click them, one opens up with Preview, the other opens in Photoshop.

Why?

2. l33r0y macrumors 6502

File associations are handled differently in Mac OS

3. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

Scarlet Fever

The second one would have been last edited in Photoshop. If you download the big pics from apple.com/pr/products, they open in photoshop.

4. chameleon thread starter macrumors regular

chameleon

Wait, so you're saying that file associations are on a file by file basis? Really?

Is that info stored in the file itself, or is there some giant table stored somewhere in the OS?

5. disconap macrumors 68000

disconap

You can drag and drop into preview and it will open it.

Most of the time, if something is saved in an adobe app, it will re-open in that app (or acrobat, if saved as a pdf). Especially if it is set to not include the preview image (different from the app Preview), which removes all the information you would see, for example, when in the multi-tiered finder mode, where the far right will show you what the image looks like (it won't if there is no preview saved).

Drag and drop or control+click and choose the app to open it with.

6. g-ram macrumors newbie

I have had to deal with this not too long ago, as I started this past semester in graphic design courses on Mac Pros at school.

If you right click a file (or control click it) and view options, you can choose which program to open a file with. I did that because for some reason, all the computers in class open .PSD files in Preivew... YUCK!