Point in the Right Direction

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by zyggiepyggie, Mar 14, 2011.

1. zyggiepyggie, Mar 14, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2011

zyggiepyggie macrumors member

zyggiepyggie

Hey,

I'm pretty new to iOS developing (as a lot of people seem to be these days) and I don't have much prior programming experience. I know bits of HTML, CSS, PHP and C but not enough to move the earth.

Over the last few weeks I've been browsing various sites and working through different Obj-C tutorials but as of late I seem to have hit a bit of a wall. I've also worked through most of the sites on the stickies at the top of the forum. I'm at a stage know where I can fathom out what's happening in someone else's code (basic apps like Fortune Cookies, Currency Convertors) but am not confident enough to write anything of my own.

Did anybody else get to a stage like this whilst climbing the mountain that is Objective-C? How did you overcome it?

Any help appreciated.

2. 1458279 Suspended

I'd say it's very common.
    Take one of the complete sample apps, and make changes to it. Add some small things to it, then make a complete add on...

Example: take a todo list and add on routines to sync up to somthing else. Add on for grouping the todo stuff. Make it so you can mark as done and then move others to another day...

Make it so that you have a time block on the todo list and create to logic to find the next day the time block fits into... offer a choice of the next 10 days the time block fits into...

For this to work, you must start with a very simple app that works properly. Look up how to add more fields to the database and the logic to find empty days that can hold things of a certain time-size...

Repeat this process with different types of apps that get into different areas of the device.