Poker Through VmWare or Boot Camp?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Knightsridge, Sep 18, 2008.

  1. Knightsridge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #1
    Ok

    I currently own a 13' Macbook. I love it.

    Now I only put boot camp on my macbook for online poker; no other reason. I dont surf, download music, watch dvds nothing. Just poker. I am scared of viruses spyware etc after the last 2 pcs I had got wiped out by a virus. So I boot in and out when I play poker. (I know macs are now poker friendly for many sites but I am quite a serious player and the programs that I use to help me play ie PokerTracker, AHK scripts, PAHUD are not on the mac so no dice)

    I have been reading this forum a lot recently figuring out what machine I wanted to buy, size, model etc. I just purchased (but have yet to receive) a 24' iMac. 4 GB Ram, 1TB.

    Now, as much as I love my macbook, I would prefer not having to boot in and out each time I play poker. I just ordered windows xp off amazon and my plan was to use VmWare Fusion. However, I have been reading about lag issues concerning Vmware when 'gaming' and I am hesitant. When playing multiple tables of poker, lag is not an option. Does anyone play poker through VmWare? Does anyone know if 1.5 GB devoted to windows would not be a problem and my issues of concern are unfounded? Again, to clarify, I would be running one poker site (PokerStars) with 16-24 tables, pokertracker which keeps track of every hand I play, and AHK scripts through Hot Key. No vids, music, or pics on windows, but I possibly would be having music or vids at the same time on the mac.

    I want to run windows and mac at the same time, but not if I am going to have a headache each time I play.

    Cheers for any help
    -K
     
  2. Knightsridge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
  3. xpipe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #3
    Online poker isn't really gaming as the term is generally used in the VMware vs. Boot Camp discussion. They're concerned about 3D graphics, which aren't required by this kind of game.



    1.5GB dedicated to Windows will not be a concern and your issues of concern are unfounded :D


    My last XP PC came with 256MB RAM (until I later upgraded it). 1.5GB should be more than enough. My Vista w/VMWare has just over 1.5GB and runs fabulously.


    My friend is into these sites (the fake money free versions) with a crappy old Dell with 256MB RAM and and integrated graphics from five years ago, and it's fine (actually, I gave him a new computer recently, but it played fine on the Dell).
     
  4. xpipe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #4
    Taking a peek at the requirements for that PokerStars site...





    It looks like you should definitely be fine.
     
  5. Knightsridge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #5
    Thanks so much to both of you

    Vmware it is

    Cheers
    -K
     
  6. looking4anotebo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #6
    Am I reading that right? You play 16-24 tables at the same time? How is that possible?
     
  7. Knightsridge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #7
    I started playing 1, then 4, then 6, 9, 12, 16, 24

    It sounds like craziness from non players, but there are a ton of players online who do this (maybe not a ton, but quite a few)

    FWIW, I did 24 tables at 50$ tables, but as I move up in stakes the table numbers decrease. ie 100$ tables I only do 16-20.
     
  8. AEP macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #8
    You do know that there is online poker that run on OSX

    i use full tilt poker daily. It works a treat, granted ive never played 24 tables at once.

    just thought if you didn't mind switching sites you could save yourself the cost of windows.
     
  9. Knightsridge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #9

    Pokerstars is Mac-friendly as well, but the programs I use to track my play (hands, money, opponents play) are not. Sometimes when I am lazy and dont want to boot into windows I play some heads up on mac (one table) but for a proper session, I never play without the programs which track my play.
     
  10. adom macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Wow I think I need some tips from you. Im playing poker with my friends for the first time in a few weeks lol.
     
  11. allmIne macrumors 6502a

    allmIne

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #11
    For a long time I played using Bootcamp with 10gig partition devoted to Windows, and never had any problem. Having said that, all I had was poker software.

    As was hinted at above, poker isn't in anyway taxing for your computer, so you can 16 table with HUD etc. and you won't have a problem.

    andy.

    As an aside, I deposited into Full Tilt, and I'm damned if I'm ever going back there, now that I've finally got my money out. Two deposit options (and ones a check, so I'm not going there, as I'd like my monies this side of Christmas) and rumours of having to hit a certain number of bonus points before being allowed to cashout!

    Shady.
     
  12. Knightsridge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #12
    Just wanted to say I bought Fusion and it works a dream with poker sites

    Thanks to those who offered advice
     
  13. xpipe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008

Share This Page