Poll: Do you have a flashed video card?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kabunaru, Feb 2, 2008.

?

Do you have a flashed video card?

  1. No, I don't

    62.5%
  2. I do but it failed

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. I have a flashed 8800 Ultra

    4.2%
  4. I have a flashed 8800 GTX

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. I have a flashed 8800 GT

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. I have a flashed 8800 GTS

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  7. I have a flashed ATI Radeon HD 3850

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  8. I have a flashed ATI Radeon HD 3870

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  9. I have a flashed ATI Radeon X1900 XT

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  10. I have some other flashed card

    33.3%
  1. kabunaru Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #1
  2. newtech macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #2
    Given there are no Apple 8800GT's shipped yet, there is no basis on which to flash an 8800 class card.

    There also is no UEFI ROM available for 3850/3870 cards yet.
     
  3. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
  4. JSchwage macrumors 6502a

    JSchwage

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #4
    I just recently flashed my ATI Radeon 9200 for use in my Sawtooth G4. It's got some oddities, such as lots of weird artifacts during the boot screen and when booting off an OS X install disc as well as keeping my G4 from going to sleep. other than that, animations in OS X seem to be smoother for the most part than on my MacBook.
     
  5. supercooled macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #5
    Sweet mother of god, that sounds like an air conditioner. I would seriously keep pets and small children away from that guy's rig. Would be nice if you could get 8800 SLI setup going with Boot Camp just so you wouldn't have to spend another $2000 or so to build a gaming machine.
     
  6. chakosticks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #6
    I have a flashed 128 MB AGP Radeon 9200 in my Sawtooth as well...really have not had any problems with it whatsoever. Maybe a handful of of minor quirks that *may* have been attributed to it over the course of several years but nothing remotely consistent. It drives two displays flawlessly.
     

Share This Page