Poll: What software do you run under Windows?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by davidlv, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. davidlv macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #1
    I wonder what software you use that must be run under Windows.
    Most major titles are available for OS X now.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Yes, and most major titles that haven't had a native version for the past couple years have terrible ports (AutoCAD, LabView). Other professional-level programs do not have a Mac equivalent (Solidworks, plus a few more I can't think of at the moment).
     
  3. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #3
    Pretty much nothing for work now. Even if there isn't a Mac version there's normally a Linux port I can use. I still have XP in a VM just in case, but after getting SmartDashboard working in Wine even that doesn't get fired up these days.
     
  4. snorkelman macrumors 6502a

    snorkelman

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #4
    run a bundle of locksmithing software and access control systems for various clients all of it is either XP only or XP prefered
     
  5. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #5
    The only thing I use Windows for now is Visual Studio - my day job involves writing a lot of software for Windows so I can't stop using Windows completely, unfortunately
     
  6. bilboa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #6
    For work I do software development on Windows.

    At home, the only thing I use Windows for is to run an RC flight simulator, Phoenix RC. There is actually now a decent OS X RC flight simulator that I could buy, Aerofly, so I could completely ditch Windows if I bought that.
     
  7. Panch0 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia
    #7
    IE <grumble>
    Visio
    OneNote
    Visual Studio
    SQL Server Management Studio

    Games
     
  8. hawksma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #8
    What do I run under Windows?

    Nothing. <thank you universe>
     
  9. charliex5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9
    Revit and I still haven't gotten used to AutoCAD for Mac.
     
  10. MrMoore macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington Heights,IL
    #10
    I run two programs in Windows 7.

    Quicken and Visio.

    The Mac version of Quicken is so limited that I need to still run the Window version.
     
  11. splitpea macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Location:
    Among the starlings
    #11
    Internet Explorer (for testing webpages; it's been years since I've needed it to access one). I'm dreading buying a copy of Win7 just to be able to test on IE9.

    Oh, and a couple legacy games.
     
  12. vistadude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #12
    Outlook, Opera, Windows live messenger (All of these run better in windows), Photoshop, Illustrator, EndNote, Word, Kaleidagraph (Don't feel like buying a mac version), Unreal Tournament 3, Digital Imaging Suite, Windows live photos, PDF XChange Viewer, VPN Client, SSH, Windows live mail, iTunes for iphone sync, windows media player, Ashampoo burning studio, notepad, Igor Pro, Windows xp mode, spider solitare.
     
  13. dXTC macrumors 68020

    dXTC

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Up, up in my studio, studio
    #13
    On my Mac, I run Win XP via Boot Camp for a very small handful of applications:
    • Remote Desktop Connection (for remoting into servers at my workplace when I'm on call). I've seen a Mac version for this, but have not yet been successful at getting it to work, and my workplace gives no Mac support.
    • Diablo II. Yes, I know, there's a Mac version for this; I just haven't bothered to install the Mac version, as I'm not really much of a gamer and seldom play it anymore.
    • The most important reason to run Windows for me: Cakewalk SONAR Producer, a professional-grade digital audio workstation similar to Logic Studio/Pro. Cakewalk SONAR has no Mac version yet; if it's ever ported to OS X, I'd uninstall XP on my Mac straight away.
    I have an older, self-built XP box. It's relegated to running Remote Desktop Connection when I have my Mac busy doing something and don't want to reboot to Windows, one or two legacy games when I'm in the mood (Star Trek Armada and Star Trek Voyager: Elite Force), and the occasional DVDFab for ripping DVDs I buy to a USB stick, for later conversion via Handbrake to my iTunes library on my Mac. I'm thinking about putting a big external drive on it and using as an iTunes server for my Apple TV.

    Everything else, I do in Mac OS X.
     
  14. a.jfred macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #14
    Microsoft Money (Sunset Edition). I have far too many years of financial data in MS Money, and they do NOT make exporting easy. I've yet to find a Mac version of any financial software that's comparable for what I need.

    And I can run it via Parallels, so I don't need to reboot into Windows, which helps.
     
  15. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
  16. vistadude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
  17. Janneman59 macrumors newbie

    Janneman59

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
  18. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #19
    PaintBrush :)
     
  19. nefan65 macrumors 65816

    nefan65

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #21
    For RDP...try CoRD. Awesome APP. Does RDP, and allows a list. Multiple sessions in the same window, with a strip on the side indicating whats open, etc...nice app overall.
     
  20. apple-ette macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    #22
    Quicken and SportTracks

    I have found a some replacements for SportTracks that I could live with (Rubitrack, for e.g.), but still hunting for a replacement for Quicken.
     
  21. Jethrotoe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Somewhere over there.
    #23
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    Ditto on Quicken.
     
  22. Yakob macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
  23. H00513R macrumors 6502a

    H00513R

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Indiana
    #25
    I don't run anything on Windows (on my Mac). I was about 1/2 way through patching XP on my iMac but felt dirty so I put it back.
     

Share This Page