POLL: Would you stop developing for IE7 to 'force' others to use Firefox/Safari etc?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by wheezy, Jun 18, 2007.

?

Would you stop all extra IE7 Code Development?

1. Absolutely - I'm tired of the wasted time adjusting my code

21 vote(s)
    35.6%
  2. Sometimes - Depends on the website

11 vote(s)
    18.6%
  3. Not really - I don't run in to problems all that often

26 vote(s)
    44.1%
  4. I love Internet Explorer

1 vote(s)
    1.7%
  1. wheezy macrumors 65816

wheezy

I've been a website developer for about 18 months, 1 year of that spent at a sweatshop making 5-7 sites a week, mostly in html and tables. During that time, IE was only a bother sometimes to me, and most of the time the fixes weren't too hard to figure out.

A few months back I got a new job, and have been pretty succesful at moving over to 'Web 2.0' and using CSS to design my pages. I've now since learned that IE7 is still a bastard child of the webworld, and M$ seems to be refusing to render valid, simple CSS code to W3C standards. I built a site last week that looked perfect in Safari, Firefox, Camino, Opera... but when viewed in IE7... suddenly looked like I had no idea how to built a website.

POLL: Would you outright give up ANY IE7 code adjustments, and just let your sites look like garbage in IE to help more avg users convert to a standards browser?

I would maybe add a footer that briefly stated if it looks like garbage, to download Safari / Firefox / Opera.

2. tutubibi macrumors 6502a

tutubibi

Not sure that this poll makes much sense.

Web developer is in the business of pleasing its customers not the other way around. If your site does not work on IE7 its your problem, regardless of a root cause. So unfortunately you don't have much choice there ;)

3. Grimace macrumors 68040

Grimace