Poor Lightroom Performance with Retina MacBook Pro Late 2013 (with dedicated GPU)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Nik, Dec 7, 2013.

  1. Nik macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
  2. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #2
    The rmbp lags like crazy with a lot of apps.
     
  3. laurihoefs macrumors 6502a

    laurihoefs

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    #3
    With Lightroom it does, especially with the 1920x1200 HiDPI.
     
  4. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #4
    someone else recommended rdm app on here to rescale to a non hidpi and it works for me!

    Use apples recommended resolutions for reading and non graphic intense tasks.

    Rescale to non hi dpi with rdm. works great!
     
  5. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #5
    Discrete or integrated gpu shouldn't affect it either way. I suspect this is a software or driver issue. Lightroom doesn't make explicit use of the OpenGL framework.
     
  6. iPersian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #6
    searching for the rdm app only gives me a link to a remote desktop app. do you have a link to the apps site.
     
  7. NocturnalJazz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    #7
  8. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #9
    No 13" rMBP has a dedicated GPU.

    The only MacBook Pro with dedicated GPU is the 15" retina MBP, high end with 2GB of GT750M.

    The Iris is NOT a dedicated GPU.

    It's normal to lag on iris.
     
  9. Nik thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    Well, I use it with the dedicated 750m and it lags anyway.
     
  10. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #11
    Just in general? Lightroom isn't notably more strenuous on a gpu than refreshing a desktop.
     
  11. Woodcrest64 macrumors 6502a

    Woodcrest64

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #12
    Found this thread today as I too have this issue with my Late 2012 Retina Macbook Pro 15". Though if I use RDM and use a non-Hi-DPI resolution like 1920x1200 then Lightroom flies on either the Dedicated GPU or the HD4000.

    I am hoping Adobe is able to solve this issue and make Lightroom more efficient than us having to wait for an Nvidia M950 4GB GPU to run lightroom at 1920x1200 in Hi-DPI mode flawlessly. lol!
     
  12. Cardsnk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #13
    Hi guys and thanks for the suggestions, may i ask what resolution you use with the RDM app when using it with lightroom? What best fits your screen?

    How about the image quality of the preview images in lightroom? does it differ from the HiDPI scaling or only the fonts get fuzzy? Thanks
     
  13. joe-h2o macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    #14
    Where did the OP suggest they had a 13" MBP? That's not relevant here.
     

Share This Page