Poor Performance Counter Strike Source on Steam

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Creebe, Dec 24, 2010.

  1. Creebe, Dec 24, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2010

    Creebe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #1
    I just purchased Counter Strike: Source yesterday. It's running on my Mac, not bootcamp or parallels. Here's what happens:

    So I start to play online, and it is fine for a couple of rounds. Then FPS suddenly drops and the game becomes quite unplayable. Basically when I run, there seems to be a huge lag after each step. It's really frustrating.

    Sometimes this lag lasts for a while, then my graphic card heats up, becomes more noisy, and then the lag disappears. Sometimes the lag just never goes away, while my computer remains cool and silent.

    Here are the specs:
    It's a late 2009 Macbook 13.
    Intel 2.26Hz
    2 GB of Memory
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M, 256MB of VRAM.

    I tried the lowest setting and stuff. Even with reduced resolution, but the lag just doesn't go away. The most FPS I got was around 60, average 30-ish.

    I tried searching for more updates for my OS, and apparently my software is up-to-date.

    Additionally, this happens when I play offline as well.

    Can someone provide a solution? Thanks! :)
     
  2. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #2
    Perhaps not enough memory. Counterstrike source runs even on the Intel GPU at high. So the 9400m should be fast enough since the 9400m is about the same speed as the Intel GPU of the i5/i7.
     
  3. Creebe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #3
    I figured out why. What happens is that my computer heats up and the fan speed isn't fast enough. So I needed to download a custom fan control program and speed up the fan manually.
     
  4. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    The Mac version runs like crap, that's why. Nothing you can do about it except use Steam Play to run the Windows version.

    My MB Pro with the NVIDIA 330M struggles to run the Mac version on low quality settings, but runs the Windows version smooth with everything maxed out.
     
  5. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Well then there must be something wrong with your computer. My crappy 2400 HD runs it at max res (1680x1050) at around medium and get 30-60 FPS, usually around 40-50. The Mac version does not run like crap.
     
  6. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #6
    :confused:

    I play Counterstrike Source with AA x 8, AF x 16 on high in OS X using the 330m. ( on 1280 x 800 though for the extra fps. )

    And Half life 2 runs maxed out at 1680 x 1050 wiht AA and AF also cranked up fine in OS X, which uses the same engine as Counterstrike Source.
     
  7. jace88, Jan 5, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2011

    jace88 macrumors regular

    jace88

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    This thread is odd because I'm running CSS on my Macbook Air 11" (2gb ram, 128gb ssd) and at native resolution, it's not too bad.

    [​IMG]

    Sure it's not as fluid as playing on my quad core/4gb ram Windows 7 machine with 3d accelerators, but it's a pretty good mobile experience for me. Beats iPhone FPS :)

    Only annoyance is trying to exit the application. Steam doesn't seem to like being closed (and results in a crash).
     
  8. Minimoose 360 macrumors 65816

    Minimoose 360

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    #8
    I haven't tried CS:S on Mac yet, but as I'm playing Half Life 2 I'm getting very poor performance. It runs ok for a bit then it starts shuttering and the sound gets ****ed up and sometimes it even crashes.

    It seems to get worse or happen when environmental sounds play.

    I have everything maxed out, but turning settings down does not fix the problem. I've been trying to find a solution for months.

    Specs:

    2.93GHz, NVIDA 9600M GT w/ 512MB VRAM, 8GB RAM, 7200 RPM HDD


    It should really be working on that setup.
     

Share This Page