Portable HD randomly fails, then functions, then fails again

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ducatidoc, Sep 25, 2008.

1. ducatidoc macrumors regular

ducatidoc

First off, thanks to everyone offering advice here - I am relatively new to OS X and need the advice.

I have a portable FireLite Smartdisk HD that is connected to my MBA via a USB2 wireless hub. I have run it direct to the MBA, through the hub, and had no issues whatsoever for 7 months. The drive is 14 months old. And yes, the warranty is for 12 months. (Looking for a portable HD? Don't buy this one.)

The drive is less than 25% full. It is in FAT32 format. It primarily serves as a backup for some non-critical files.

It failed last week. Crash, boom. The drive would not mount, and made a loud "clicking" noise when powered up. I (mistakenly) assume the drive is toast, say a little prayer for the POS, and smiled that I am not so stupid as to forget to backup my data.

Here's where it gets weird... (cue spooky background music)

The next time I reboot, I forget the drive is still attached. IT MOUNTS. No clicking. Even spookier, DATA IS THERE. Figuring I am simply inept at computer, I just guess that maybe I was wrong and it is okay.

Over time (and successive reboots) the drive continues to mount. Sometimes the data is there. Sometimes the data is not accessible. On a few more occasions, the drive completely fails to mount and reverts back to making that loud clicking noise.

So.. What do I do? Is this a HTF+/Fat32 thing? I would figure loud clicking from a drive speaks to a hardware issue, but in my limited knowledge hard drives either work or fail - never "sometimes." Is there any chance this is something I can fix and salavage the drive?

Thanks!

2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

it sounds like the drive is on its last legs. make sure the data is backed up and only use it for things that are non-critical or you don't care about losing.

clicking noises + hard drives = bad news.