Portable office

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jimbo110, Apr 24, 2007.

  1. jimbo110 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #1
    I'm working from home on my iMac 24". And I love it.

    I own a Dell laptop but think it's a little heavy and complicated to get to the internet. When traveling and I often leave it at home.

    Is it true if I buy a macbook or macbook pro I can sync my primary workstation (iMac) with a macbook/macbook pro?

    I'am considering buying a laptop or maybe iphone. Since I would be great to connect to my e-mail account when traveling and do some work.

    Lately I meet a girlfriend and when visiting her I have to borrow her PC. It's not easy to get something done when I don't have access to my other stuff.

    What would you recommend as my portable companion? I have been considering a macbook or 15" macbook pro. Should I wait for something new to come? Maybe a smaller macbook pro? Hope anyone can help me getting on the right track.
     
  2. zero2dash macrumors 6502a

    zero2dash

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Location:
    Fenton, MO
    #2
    Macbook should probably suffice unless you need the power that the Pro includes. What will you use it for other than synching? Any design or film/photography application use?
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    There are some different options you can look at for synchronizing. They range from the very basic -- throw all your files on a USB drive -- to more sophisticated things. One of the newest and most sophisticated options seems to be this -- I've used their software, but not this app:

    http://www.markspace.com/synctogether.php
     
  4. jimbo110 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    I maybe going to use it for designing in photoshop and dreamweaver.
     
  5. jimbo110 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #5
    Can't .mac sync contents?
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Yes, for the most part. There are a few things that these solutions do that .Mac does not. But if you're buying .Mac, you probably don't need this.
     
  7. jimbo110 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #7
    I bought .mac with my iMac but have not used it yet. I'll have a look at http://www.markspace.com/synctogether.php

    maybe i can use it. Thanks for great advice:)
     

Share This Page