Portal 2 How will it run on my Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Amdixer, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. Amdixer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I know this is like the millionth topic on this, but I want to know if I can run it in decent quality and framerate on my mac...

    I've got the fall 2009 iMac:
    Specs:
    Intel Core 2 Duo 3.06 GHz
    4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
    ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB

    Anything else you need?

    So I was wondering if it would run well? I want to be able to run it in native resolution so 1920 x 1080

    I've also got bootcamp on my mac, so I could run it in windows, wich would increase, but i'd rather have it run well on mac :)

    Also, If I buy it, can I install it on both windows and Mac? (because if i pick mac and it turns out to run very bad, i would like to be able the then install it on windows)
     
  2. Mac2011 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    #2
    It doesn't matter where you install it. The only thing you have to pay attention to is that you are not logged in on 2 systems at the same time.
     
  3. Amdixer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #3
    Ok, THX for the quick response,

    I still held off buying it, because I want to know how the game will run on my mac. Is there anyone that can tell me that? I know I meet the minimum requirements, but the minimum requirements are probably for like 800x600 with everything on low...
     
  4. Sheet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Location:
    Kiel, Germany
    #4
    It seems to be running good on MBA, so you should be fine.
    I am still waiting for my copy and having the same specs as you (except nvidia graphics).
     
  5. Reasec macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #5
    Mac is the same computer like HP/Asus bla bla. Just put windows on it and enjoy. Mac OS has poor opengl drivers, so no fun there...
     
  6. JordanNZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #6
    OpenGL is the graphics API that powers OSX, not the drivers.
    And Portal2 seems to be running great so far for most people on OSX.

    So... Plenty of fun there. At least I'm having fun playing in on my mac.
     
  7. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    I run it all on low at 1024x768 (or something similar) on the iMac in my sig and it runs fine. Haven't checked the FPS but it seems to be at least 30. So yours will run it great.
     
  8. Amdixer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #8
    Omg, does a macbook air have the same specs as my iMac :O That's fast progression in only 1,5 years...

    But what res. are you running it under?
     
  9. iMatthew macrumors member

    iMatthew

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #9
    Well, I have the same iMac, but in the 27" flavor and 8GB RAM so I will need to run it at the native resolution of 2560x1440.

    So I will let you know later on today after it gets installed.

    I'm not to worried - it seems a lot of folks are having really good results from lower end iMacs and Mac books.
     
  10. Sheet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Location:
    Kiel, Germany
    #10
    Would be awesome, but no :D I got the same iMac as you and got my copy of Portal 2 today. Runs smoothly on native res (1600x1000 something)!

    Just wanted to point out, that even the MBAs are able to run the game smoothly. So no worries for you ;)
     
  11. Amdixer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #11
  12. PatrickCocoa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #12
    Shocked, shocked I tell you

    I have the same setup as you, and I'm absolutely shocked at how horrible Portal 2 runs on my setup. I play for about 30 seconds and the game starts stuttering, the frame rate turns to slideshow (updating a couple times per second).

    I'm assuming there's something weird going on, as other people who've played don't mention this. I submitted a report on Steam's site and will wait for their reply. I'm somewhat disappointed but have other things to do so am not consumed with rage.

    I don't actually expect much from Steam. I now remember the sequence of problems I had with Steam and Steam games about a year or so ago when it first came out. I had pretty much dropped Steam because of the issues (most of which were resolved) until Portal 2 came out.
     
  13. iMatthew, Apr 21, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2011

    iMatthew macrumors member

    iMatthew

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #13
    Model: iMac 27" (late 2009)
    CPU: 3.06 C2D
    RAM: 8GB
    GPU: ATI HD 4670 / 256 MB VRAM
    RESOLUTION: 2560x1440

    My current settings in Portal 2 are:
    Anti-Aliasing: Off (no need for this at that high resolution)
    Filtering: 2x
    V-Sync: double
    Multi-core: enabled
    Shaders: Med
    Effects: high
    Model detail: high
    resolution: 2560x1440

    Runs smooth, no stuttering, very happy. I could probably notch the resolution down and turn up shaders but I'm not sure what the difference is between med and high shaders.
     
  14. Amdixer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    #14
    Liking your post :) I'm currently downloading it for windows, the rotating camera seems to be a mac bug... But still, running it under windows would mean better performance :)

    The only thing I'm lacking is the extra 4GB's of ram ;) But that probably only has to do with the textures, and i've put textures on low, and it doesnt look THAT bad, so thx for the post ;)
     
  15. iMatthew macrumors member

    iMatthew

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #15
    Believe it or not installing that extra 4 GB has given me a good boost all over - including games. Especially StarCraft 2, and a lot of the Valve games from Steam.

    Its worth the price as well, I think it cost me $48 from crucial to get that extra 4 GB in there, well worth the price.
     
  16. PatrickCocoa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #16
    Good News

    This is good news for me - I've got a similar setup (except 21.5" and 4 GB) so hope that my Portal 2 issues can be resolved.

    I've got just the 4 GB, but given your experience I will look into upgrading to 8 GB.
     
  17. daveprince13, Apr 26, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011

    daveprince13 macrumors newbie

    daveprince13

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    Park City, UT
    #17
    I have the same question

    I own one of the new Xbox 360 Slim's (with the sweet glossy look) and you can see that our computers are almost identical. How is Portal 2 running on your machine and what are the settings at? Did you ever fix the camera bug?

    I wanted to buy Portal 2 on my Mac but if I can get a nice 60 FPS on Xbox for $10 more, I'd rather buy the smoother running game. Sure I won't be in the PS3 + PC + Mac + Steam Cloud online group but Xbox Live has a robust online community and I don't think I'd have a problem finding a partner to beat co-op with. Any news?
     
  18. gman901 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #18
    You made a wise decision! I bought the PS3 version thinking I'll play it on my Mac and have the PS3 disc as a bonus... 6 days later, I can't even link my Steam download with my PS3 disc due the stupid network being down.
     
  19. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #19
    You sure the 360 version runs at 60 FPS? It is very rare for a console game to run at 60 FPS, and games that do make sacrifices. like COD and it's horrible textures.
     
  20. iNeko macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #20
    My base Macbook Air (1.4/2/128) runs Portal 2 on high/very high (at 1366x768, native) the only issue is slow loading (due to only 2gb ram), so an iMac will have no problems with it at all. ;)
     
  21. Messy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #21
    What gpu?
     
  22. iNeko macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #22
    GPU in the Air is the Nvidia 320m :) I think it uses 256mb of system memory, which makes it even more surprising! I haven't had to put anything (except Civ V) on medium or below, it's a little beast!
     
  23. elcritic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    #23
    Portal 2 on new imac

    I wonder if I could run Portal 2 on the new Imac (27" 2011). Is there a website where I can test the imac?
     
  24. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #24
    Portal2 runs smoother than Portal did and seems to cause less heating on my MacPro (see sig). It seems they have optimised the games engine significantly.
     
  25. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #25
    You can do, it'll just log you out of one of them.

    Depends on the system. Portal 2 runs much worse on my old iMac (Windows XP, x1600, 2ghz C2D, 3gb ram) than Portal 1. I could at least push native res at 60fps on the original.

    Of course it can. My 27" runs at 60fps with everything at max at native res.
     

Share This Page